Vegetable Beef Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This soup was outstanding! I'm a big fan of soups and have several cookbooks dedicated souly to soup, so I have cooked many. This one was one of the best I've ever made! The only changes I made were: no bacon (personal preference), no celery because I didn't have any, and I used a whole pound of beef, an extra can of white beans and two extra cups of broth. There was not one drop leftover! My children (all four) and my husband ate several servings each. Thank you for what will become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Am using this recipe again tonight, becuase my husband really liked it when I made it the first time. Said it was even better than his mom's, which is saying something. I add more beef (about 1 lb total) and use shell noodles instead of spaghetti, so it all comes out probably a bit thicker - but we like it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Excellent soup! Did double the beef broth as per other reviewers suggestion. Used great northern beans instead of garbanzos. Next time will double the crushed red pepper or add cayenne for some additional heat but otherwise a great recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Not at all good. The bacon is a terrible mistake, the flavor seems out of place in a vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I thought this soup was very easy to make and delicious. It does end up thick if you follow the recipe. If you don't like it thick, just use more broth. I used navy beans instead of chick peas, and ditali instead of spagetti. It turned out very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trzos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
this makes a superb soup! i chopped up a heavy half pound of stew meat, used a sprinkle of ground cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes, added a cup of dark red kidney beans & substituted the spaghetti with medium shells, (don't stir in the pasta until you're ready to serve). the soup is very thick so i followed the suggestion of doubling the stock. one more note: i deliberately made this soup the day ahead to allow the flavors to mingle. sprinkle on a little grated parmesan or romano cheese & you're good to go! thanks for this terrific recipe, lindsay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Fantastic! Try it. This is the world's best minestrone, and incredibly quick and easy to make. But use two cans of beef broth unless you like a very, very thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
I made this recipe tonight and it was excellent. A few variations: I put 1/2 can chickpeas and 1/2 can red kidney beans instead of the full can of chickpeas. I also used pasta shells instead of spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Different from most minestrones I've tasted, but very good and very easy. Seemed a bit thick for my taste, but that was easys to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States