Vegetable Beef Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! It's easy to substitute and add vegetables based on what I have in the fridge. Based on the other reviews, I put in 12oz of beef broth, 1 can of stewed tomatoes, 1 can cream of tomato. Overall, truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Acosta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was tasty, although it needed about 3 cans of beef broth and half a can of chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Oh, this had such a great flavor! I did not have any bacon, but I did use bacon grease to cook the veggies into a mirpoix. I was very surprised - my kids loved it, and cleaned their bowls. haven't heard from hubby yet - I think he is not a fan: he likes his soups smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe was amazing. I followed the recipe except changed the ground beef for ground turkey. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is a very nice simple soup recipe with good seasonings. My family liked it a lot. It needed more liquid, and I added about a cup of water toward the end of the cooking time. Other than that I made it just as submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
EXCELLENT/EASY! If you are in a rush just follow recipe exacatly and you can't go wrong - except - you might want to have more broth/water on hand to thin it out if you feel it is too thick - especially the next day. I needed to add more broth but it could be because the carrots I used were rather large and I needed to use 1/4 lb of elbow macaroni (since that is what I had) versus the VERY THIN pieces of spaghetti. The spices held up even after adding extra broth. I really loved this and look forward to taking it to work next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My aunt called my attention to this recipe about 2 years ago, once I tried it I've made it again and again. Just made some today, can't wait to have it for lunch and then again for dinner. I usually do add more liquid, sometimes anohter can of stewed tomatoes, sometime I even add green beans. Always I cruch up some nacho chips on the top of my bowl. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
My boyfriend liked this okay. I wasn't too fond of it myself. It seems like it needed something, just not sure what. It could be salt - I had to add salt and oyster crackers for it to be edible for myself personally. I will try it again, with some few adjustments to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great recipe, I did use a pound of very lean ground beef. I had to add a 14 1/2 can of beef broth because it was much to thick. And it was still plenty thick, because of that I also added 1/4 teaspoon more crushed red pepper and about one rounded teaspoon of Italian seasoning and two small cloves of minced garlic..My husband said don't change a thing!. He said it is his favorite soup. ( he says that with every good soup I make) I agree tho, it is a five star. I will l make it many times more. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This soup was so good!!!! Everyone loved it. Although I did make a few changes. I used kindney beans instead of chick peas and I added 2 cans of beef broth and 3/4 cup of water. I also added canned corn and used diced fireroasted tamatoes instead of stewed tamatoes. Yumm!! thanks so much for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States