Vegetable Beef Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! It's easy to substitute and add vegetables based on what I have in the fridge. Based on the other reviews, I put in 12oz of beef broth, 1 can of stewed tomatoes, 1 can cream of tomato. Overall, truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was tasty, although it needed about 3 cans of beef broth and half a can of chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Oh, this had such a great flavor! I did not have any bacon, but I did use bacon grease to cook the veggies into a mirpoix. I was very surprised - my kids loved it, and cleaned their bowls. haven't heard from hubby yet - I think he is not a fan: he likes his soups smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe was amazing. I followed the recipe except changed the ground beef for ground turkey. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is a very nice simple soup recipe with good seasonings. My family liked it a lot. It needed more liquid, and I added about a cup of water toward the end of the cooking time. Other than that I made it just as submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
EXCELLENT/EASY! If you are in a rush just follow recipe exacatly and you can't go wrong - except - you might want to have more broth/water on hand to thin it out if you feel it is too thick - especially the next day. I needed to add more broth but it could be because the carrots I used were rather large and I needed to use 1/4 lb of elbow macaroni (since that is what I had) versus the VERY THIN pieces of spaghetti. The spices held up even after adding extra broth. I really loved this and look forward to taking it to work next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My aunt called my attention to this recipe about 2 years ago, once I tried it I've made it again and again. Just made some today, can't wait to have it for lunch and then again for dinner. I usually do add more liquid, sometimes anohter can of stewed tomatoes, sometime I even add green beans. Always I cruch up some nacho chips on the top of my bowl. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
My boyfriend liked this okay. I wasn't too fond of it myself. It seems like it needed something, just not sure what. It could be salt - I had to add salt and oyster crackers for it to be edible for myself personally. I will try it again, with some few adjustments to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great recipe, I did use a pound of very lean ground beef. I had to add a 14 1/2 can of beef broth because it was much to thick. And it was still plenty thick, because of that I also added 1/4 teaspoon more crushed red pepper and about one rounded teaspoon of Italian seasoning and two small cloves of minced garlic..My husband said don't change a thing!. He said it is his favorite soup. ( he says that with every good soup I make) I agree tho, it is a five star. I will l make it many times more. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This soup was so good!!!! Everyone loved it. Although I did make a few changes. I used kindney beans instead of chick peas and I added 2 cans of beef broth and 3/4 cup of water. I also added canned corn and used diced fireroasted tamatoes instead of stewed tamatoes. Yumm!! thanks so much for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States