Vegetable and Tofu Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This I entered into a competition and it did really well.Its great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I used a potato press to remove the water from the shredded zucchini and I put the whole mixture through my food processor. We didn't have curry past so we just used kosher salt and lots of freshly ground pepper. It formed perfect burgers and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I sauteed the veggies as another reviewer suggested. I thought they tasted very good but they didn't hold together and they looked unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was really good- although I made quite a few changes. First, I didn't have basil so I used parsely, a little mint and curry to spice it and then I liked the taste of it so much (I hadn't added the egg yet) that I decided to eat it as is, with some soy cheese in a wrap. Was fantastic! Also lower in fat and vegan (semi-raw). Maybe tomorrow I'll fry it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Thanks for a good recipe.I didn't have fresh basil so used a liberal amount of dried and served the burger on wheat toast with ketchup and lettuce. I think its important to remove water properly from zucchini, onion and celery, otherwise it will fall apart. I reduced the amount of celery and used bread crumbs by approximation till it would form good burgers. And yes, I think a little bit of salt in the mixture adds to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I thought it was okay, not great, but then, I'm not a huge tofu fan either. People in my family who like tofu loved it! I'm sure if I make if more it'll grow on me! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe turned out pretty good, but I didn't really follow it too well! All of these reviews were telling me that it falls apart way too easily! I seem to have corrected that problem! I ground up the tofu in the food processer. Then I boiled the carrots and onion to soften them and threw them into the food processer. I combined all of those ingedients and then added TWO eggs and the half cup of dry bread crumbs. I did not use zucchini or celery...because I did not have them, but I did have some leftover asparagus and cut up 3 stalks of that finely and added that to the mix. I added basil (but not fresh leaves as suggested, unfortunately), as well as a little Cumin, salt, pepper, and soy sauce, and one clove of garlic, cut finely. I mixed everything and then made patties and cooked as recipe suggested, and they turned out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
These were pretty tasty but def. had a kick to them. They're a little messy so I fryed them and them baked them in the oven to get them cooked evenly. They're actually better left over and without putting them on bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I had the same problem as many other people -- the mixture just didn't hold together. I even sauteed the vegetables before mixing them, but that didn't really help. What I ended up doing was just scrambling the entire mixture in a skillet to dry out the ingredients and then forming patties afterwards. My friend and I also tried baking them, but that won't work either unless the mixture is drier first. Tastewise, it was very bland (not sure if it was supposed to be that way). We added dry basil, seasoned pepper, and garlic salt for some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States