Vegetable and Tofu Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I too was disappointed by this. The mixture didn't form a "burger" at all, and I ended up with more of a scramble. Also, I think it may taste better if the veggies are sauteed first, as leaving them raw makes the "burger" rather crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
Rather disappointing. The mixture didn't hold together well enough to put on a bun and it was too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Thanks for a good recipe.I didn't have fresh basil so used a liberal amount of dried and served the burger on wheat toast with ketchup and lettuce. I think its important to remove water properly from zucchini, onion and celery, otherwise it will fall apart. I reduced the amount of celery and used bread crumbs by approximation till it would form good burgers. And yes, I think a little bit of salt in the mixture adds to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chakra Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Adding eggs to the recipe made the ingredients stick together a bit better, but this is still a mixture that falls apart. It tastes pretty good, but if you're expecting it to become a pattie you're out of luck. There is no way this stuff will stay together inside a bun. I had to serve it as just regular tofu stir-fry. Still, everyone enjoyed it so it's not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chakra Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I had the same problem as many other people -- the mixture just didn't hold together. I even sauteed the vegetables before mixing them, but that didn't really help. What I ended up doing was just scrambling the entire mixture in a skillet to dry out the ingredients and then forming patties afterwards. My friend and I also tried baking them, but that won't work either unless the mixture is drier first. Tastewise, it was very bland (not sure if it was supposed to be that way). We added dry basil, seasoned pepper, and garlic salt for some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I sauteed the veggies as another reviewer suggested. I thought they tasted very good but they didn't hold together and they looked unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was really good- although I made quite a few changes. First, I didn't have basil so I used parsely, a little mint and curry to spice it and then I liked the taste of it so much (I hadn't added the egg yet) that I decided to eat it as is, with some soy cheese in a wrap. Was fantastic! Also lower in fat and vegan (semi-raw). Maybe tomorrow I'll fry it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I thought it was okay, not great, but then, I'm not a huge tofu fan either. People in my family who like tofu loved it! I'm sure if I make if more it'll grow on me! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
These were pretty tasty but def. had a kick to them. They're a little messy so I fryed them and them baked them in the oven to get them cooked evenly. They're actually better left over and without putting them on bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This I entered into a competition and it did really well.Its great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States