Vegetable and Tofu Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
They didn't hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe turned out pretty good, but I didn't really follow it too well! All of these reviews were telling me that it falls apart way too easily! I seem to have corrected that problem! I ground up the tofu in the food processer. Then I boiled the carrots and onion to soften them and threw them into the food processer. I combined all of those ingedients and then added TWO eggs and the half cup of dry bread crumbs. I did not use zucchini or celery...because I did not have them, but I did have some leftover asparagus and cut up 3 stalks of that finely and added that to the mix. I added basil (but not fresh leaves as suggested, unfortunately), as well as a little Cumin, salt, pepper, and soy sauce, and one clove of garlic, cut finely. I mixed everything and then made patties and cooked as recipe suggested, and they turned out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Even if the flavor is okay, this is not a burger. Unless you did not mean to use silken tofu, it is WAY too runny to form patties. I tried adding a cup of cooked rice, and extra cup of bread crumbs and it still had the wrong consistency.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I used a potato press to remove the water from the shredded zucchini and I put the whole mixture through my food processor. We didn't have curry past so we just used kosher salt and lots of freshly ground pepper. It formed perfect burgers and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This should not be called a burger- it did not hold together at all. The taste was very average- just like minced sauteed vegetables I will never make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chakra Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Adding eggs to the recipe made the ingredients stick together a bit better, but this is still a mixture that falls apart. It tastes pretty good, but if you're expecting it to become a pattie you're out of luck. There is no way this stuff will stay together inside a bun. I had to serve it as just regular tofu stir-fry. Still, everyone enjoyed it so it's not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chakra Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I had the same problem as many other people -- the mixture just didn't hold together. I even sauteed the vegetables before mixing them, but that didn't really help. What I ended up doing was just scrambling the entire mixture in a skillet to dry out the ingredients and then forming patties afterwards. My friend and I also tried baking them, but that won't work either unless the mixture is drier first. Tastewise, it was very bland (not sure if it was supposed to be that way). We added dry basil, seasoned pepper, and garlic salt for some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I thought it was okay, not great, but then, I'm not a huge tofu fan either. People in my family who like tofu loved it! I'm sure if I make if more it'll grow on me! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I sauteed the veggies as another reviewer suggested. I thought they tasted very good but they didn't hold together and they looked unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Thanks for a good recipe.I didn't have fresh basil so used a liberal amount of dried and served the burger on wheat toast with ketchup and lettuce. I think its important to remove water properly from zucchini, onion and celery, otherwise it will fall apart. I reduced the amount of celery and used bread crumbs by approximation till it would form good burgers. And yes, I think a little bit of salt in the mixture adds to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States