Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I made these for my family (including my son's girlfriend who is from Tennessee)...trying or cook healthier for them...everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I needed something dairy free so I tried these. I was very pleasantly surprised! I love using coconut oil and I had some almond milk that I had made. I didn't have any stevia so I used a little coconut palm sugar. They don't really rise much so don't expect that. They are very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very nice! I only used ww flour instead of ww pastry flour and canola oil instead of coconut, but no complains........great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I made these yesterday without any high hopes, but boy was I impressed! I even received high praise from my picky eaters. I used skim milk in place of the almond milk and only about 2/3 c. since it is not as thick, and read the reviews about these not rising much and added about 1/2 TBS vital wheat gluten. I was very happy with the outcome. I was looking for a recipe that didn't use shortening and this is IT! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I chose this recipe because it does not use shortening, and I was pleasantly surprised by the result. They came out as slightly sweet, fluffy biscuits with just a hint of coconut and almond flavor. I did not roll out the dough, but cut in the oil using my food processor, then put the mix into a large bowl and quickly worked in the milk with a spoon. Then I made patties by hand, just gently patting the dough into shape - worked very well and was quick. I also made a second batch (at the same time), using half coconut oil and half lard (from cooking bacon), and added some onions and bacon bits (I cooked cut-up bacon and onion in a pan before adding). And I did not have any more almond milk, so I used buttermilk instead, about 2/3 cup. They came out great, too, but I think the bacon flavor does not harmonize so well with the coconut flavor, although everybody in my family still loved them. The "original" batch was a nicer, more rounded flavor overall, and if you add bacon, leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Really good, but be aware of what kind of stevia powder you have. I have pure stevia extract powder with no additives, and 1/4 of a tsp makes pretty sweet biscuits, maybe a tad bit too sweet for some. I don't know what powder the writer used, but if I used a tbsp of my extract, it would be equivalent to 3-5 cups of sugar (which would make the biscuits sweeter than pure sugar in the shape of biscuits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This made delicious biscuits though I did change a few things. I omitted the sugar altogether, used 1/4 Earth Balance + 1/2 C coconut oil and added a few herbs since I was making biscuits for biscuits and gravy. The biscuits are moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Had to add much more coconut oil than resume stated to get it crumbly. I must be use to butter as an ingredient, because these biscuits lacked the "melt in my mouth" flavor. Or it needs more stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ben Stark
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Great recipe. I subbed soy milk for almond milk and it ended up being a bit too much liquid so I added extra pastry floor. Also made this with sugar instead of stevia. Overall the biscuits came out moist and fluffy and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Stark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I altered the recipe with the following ingredients: 1 cup white flour, 1 cup white whole wheat flour, I also added a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar (or white or lemon juice) to the soy milk (instead of almond) to make sour milk. I also used a whole cane brown sugar instead of Stevia (I had no idea what was Stevia). The biscuits came out great! My coconut oil was in liquid form. I wasn't sure at first if that would work, but it worked great! I made a nutritional yeast gravy to go on top and they were delicious! Both of my sons, ages 4 and 9 months loved them too! Good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States