Vegan Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is my new favorite waffle recipe! I would have taken a photo, but they were gobbled up before I could get out the camera. The only things I changed were: 1 Tbl of molasses instead of agave, coconut milk instead of soy, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also made a couple of them by pouring the batter and setting sliced bananas on top before closing the waffle iron. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lake Villa Guatemala

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Loved these! I didn't have any whole wheat flour, so I subbed spelt flour. Also, I used almond milk instead of soy. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon. My family gobbled these up so fast. To help keep the waffles from sticking, it seems best to brush canola or vegetable oil on the waffle iron instead of using a spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Fabulous flavor and fluffy crunchy texture without the use of so much oil, butter, or sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I have a go-to vegan waffle recipe and this one just blew it out of the park. Our other one is pale, not terribly nutritious, and dense (though very yummy). These were lighter, crisped up well, and were so wholesome. I thought I had dome half whole wheat, half unbleached white flour but I didn't. Did all white accidentally. Would prefer the whole wheat. We use oat flour regularly so I knew that would be great. I did add cinnamon. I also doubled it thinking, if this only made 6 waffles, I'd for sure need more for my family of 5 (well, 4 and a 1 year old who only ate 1.5 waffles). I use a square waffle mater - two waffles side-by-side. Doubled, this made about 24 waffles. Wowee! I'm sure they freeze well, as waffles do. So, beware, for that size of waffles, it's making more than 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowderfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe was EXCELLENT! I substituted the whole wheat flour for quinoa flour and it still turned out wonderful. My daughter and I gobbled them up. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. It has a light texture with a crunchy outside. I used soy milk instead of water, 1 part whole wheat to 3 parts white flour, sugar instead of agave and added cinnamon and nutmeg and added a tsp extra oil. I served it with fresh blueberries and strawberries. I especially liked the toasty light brown color these waffles had compared to other vegan waffle recipes I've made that were always a light pale color. This will be my go to vegan recipe for waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My wife and I LOVE this recipe! I grew eating my Mom's waffles every Saturday, and have been missing them since we became vegan. This more than makes up for it! We haven't needed to change anything with the recipe. At first I thought that 4 tsp. Baking Powder was too much, but it's just perfect. I do throw in a few dashes of Cinnamon to enhance the flavor, but this recipe works just fine the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have never felt the need to write a review until I tried this recipe... Twice. Both times were big time fails and I followed the directions to a T. The waffles were crispy for sure since I had to add extra oil since it stuck. But the insides were gummy and wet. I couldn't even get it out of the waffle pan because it fell apart. This happened both times. The pieces I tasted were bland and tasteless. This recipe didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States