Vegan Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is my new favorite waffle recipe! I would have taken a photo, but they were gobbled up before I could get out the camera. The only things I changed were: 1 Tbl of molasses instead of agave, coconut milk instead of soy, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also made a couple of them by pouring the batter and setting sliced bananas on top before closing the waffle iron. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lake Villa Guatemala

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. It has a light texture with a crunchy outside. I used soy milk instead of water, 1 part whole wheat to 3 parts white flour, sugar instead of agave and added cinnamon and nutmeg and added a tsp extra oil. I served it with fresh blueberries and strawberries. I especially liked the toasty light brown color these waffles had compared to other vegan waffle recipes I've made that were always a light pale color. This will be my go to vegan recipe for waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I have a go-to vegan waffle recipe and this one just blew it out of the park. Our other one is pale, not terribly nutritious, and dense (though very yummy). These were lighter, crisped up well, and were so wholesome. I thought I had dome half whole wheat, half unbleached white flour but I didn't. Did all white accidentally. Would prefer the whole wheat. We use oat flour regularly so I knew that would be great. I did add cinnamon. I also doubled it thinking, if this only made 6 waffles, I'd for sure need more for my family of 5 (well, 4 and a 1 year old who only ate 1.5 waffles). I use a square waffle mater - two waffles side-by-side. Doubled, this made about 24 waffles. Wowee! I'm sure they freeze well, as waffles do. So, beware, for that size of waffles, it's making more than 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowderfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Loved these! I didn't have any whole wheat flour, so I subbed spelt flour. Also, I used almond milk instead of soy. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon. My family gobbled these up so fast. To help keep the waffles from sticking, it seems best to brush canola or vegetable oil on the waffle iron instead of using a spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Almond
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Perfect, yummy and easy to make. They came out quite amazing looking with our MM shaped waffle griddle (my 3 yr old is obsessed with Mickey M). I'm new to waffle-making, so it was a joy to have these come out so beautifully. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe is close to perfect as is - we make these every Sunday! You can taste the whole grains, and the flax adds nice texture, too. Make sure to spray the waffle iron with Pam in between each waffle, or they'll stick. I usually use vanilla soy milk, but I've used regular in the past and that comes out great, too. There's no need to blend the mix at the last step, either - stirring with a rubber spatula or fork is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Goddard
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
First time making this recipe, Turned out awesome! Great taste & texture too. So versatile too, can easily substitute different ingredients. Thanks for the recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe was EXCELLENT! I substituted the whole wheat flour for quinoa flour and it still turned out wonderful. My daughter and I gobbled them up. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Fabulous flavor and fluffy crunchy texture without the use of so much oil, butter, or sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Dunston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My wife and I LOVE this recipe! I grew eating my Mom's waffles every Saturday, and have been missing them since we became vegan. This more than makes up for it! We haven't needed to change anything with the recipe. At first I thought that 4 tsp. Baking Powder was too much, but it's just perfect. I do throw in a few dashes of Cinnamon to enhance the flavor, but this recipe works just fine the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States