Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nikki A
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Tasty soup. I had to preboil and simmer the split peas for 30 min. I then used my immersion blender on the split peas and water. When the peas were almost done simmering, I stirfried the other veggies. Then I added the veggies to the split peas, and simmered everything for 1 hr. Switching up the order, boiling the split peas, and using the immersion blender made the split peas softer and mushier, making it a much better soup for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Our go-to split pea soup recipe. I always double it and add barley. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Tasted great and really easy to make. I have a quibble with the serving size, though. I made it exactly as written and barely got 3 good-size servings. I did cook it until it got quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I followed the directions closely (used broth instead of water, plus black pepper)but after reading the reviews, I was worried that it would take forever for the soup to get ready. I threw the soup into my electrical pressure cooker for 15 minutes and enjoyed the very delicious, creamy soup. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
First off, this recipe is DELISH! I highly recommend it. Of course, I made a couple changes based on necessity. First, I had no curry so used turmeric in its place. Most importantly, however, is cook time. It took almost 5 hours for the green peas that I used to soften. Plus, a LOT more fluid. I used chicken broth instead of water and I ended up using two additional cups of chicken broth in order to cook the peas to the proper consistency. Luckily, I started this early in the day. In was well worth the wait and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was delicious. I used 2x the carrots and curry and was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I liked this. I thought it was good and I have no major complaints. I like that it didn't require lots of chopping. Although, I did only get 3 servings. I will definitely double the recipe, if I make it again. I used 1/2 of a lighter colored split pea and half green for variety. It was done in the time stated. I did have to add 2 additional cups of water while it cooked, which was no big deal. I would consider cutting the salt back, but only because it yielded less servings than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Love this in the winter. I add extra cumin and curry to increase the spice. Its so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I quadrupled the curry and used the full amount of salt (usually I use half the salt when I cook). But it is cheap, easy, and filling. The leftovers are better than the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I added more veggies and it came out much better than I thought it would. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States