Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was delicious. I used 2x the carrots and curry and was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I liked this. I thought it was good and I have no major complaints. I like that it didn't require lots of chopping. Although, I did only get 3 servings. I will definitely double the recipe, if I make it again. I used 1/2 of a lighter colored split pea and half green for variety. It was done in the time stated. I did have to add 2 additional cups of water while it cooked, which was no big deal. I would consider cutting the salt back, but only because it yielded less servings than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Love this in the winter. I add extra cumin and curry to increase the spice. Its so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I quadrupled the curry and used the full amount of salt (usually I use half the salt when I cook). But it is cheap, easy, and filling. The leftovers are better than the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I added more veggies and it came out much better than I thought it would. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I doubled it, and added a sprig of rosemary and a bay leaf. it was excellent. I'm newer to cooking and learned the hard way that if the peas you buy are too old, they will never soften. But when you have good peas, this is a lovely, tasty dish that lasted all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
As others have said you need to soak the split peas before making this. I only did it for an hour and it wasn't long enough, the peas were still crunchy, but we kind of like it that way so it was still really good. I also did use broth instead of water and added garlic and potatoes. I think next time I may throw it all in the slow cooker! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made many split pea soup recipes and never found "The one!" until today. This is by far the best recipe I've ever made and it's going into my family recipe cook book so that my kids have it forever. The only thing that I changed was to add some chopped garlic to the recipe and a bit more curry and since I had split GREEN peas on hand that's what I used, that's it! If you love split pea soup then this recipe is a must to make, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used green split peas because that's all I had, but it's a wonderful soup and even meat lovers love this (and don't miss the ham!). It's a quick and easy soup too. I do however suggest doubling it if it's to be a main course soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Awesome recipe! Very easy to make. I soaked green peas over night, peeled and diced a brown potato, and upped the spices a tad (based on the previous reviews), oh and I added a teaspoon of marjoram and 2 cloves of chopped garlic. I used my emersion blender to thinken it up a little, making sure I left some potatoes so it didn't feel like eating baby food. HUGE HIT! Absolutely going to make this again. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States