Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I was skeptical, but willing to try this recipe based on the rating. I am so glad that I did as it was very good. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any celery or parsley. I will make this again and suggest other skeptics to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Never had split pea soup before and it was a good recipe. Never knew I liked split peas. Thanks for the recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good soup. Excellent nutrition. Tastes healthy without being bland. Like the reviewer below I also added about 4 extra cups of water and the soup was still pretty thick. Also freezes and reheats well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Awesome Recipe! Very thick, delicious soup! I've made it 6 times since finding the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGuy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Canyon Country, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
this was so yummy! didn't miss the meat at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was great! The barley is a good touch because it adds texture. Also, I accidentally bought cilantro instead of parsley, so I put it in anyway and it added a nice tangy flavor. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I half the recipe but use 6c of water and toss it all into a pressure cooker for 20-30 min after first steam release. I've been making this years now. It's a great thick soup for teaching your infants to eat with a spoon. My now 2 year old actually asks for this soup for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Very good but as most reviewers mentioned is is THICK. I did end up adding more liquid (2 cups I think) but could def have added some more. I have some frozen that I plan to thaw this week and heat with some added veggie stock. Yummy Hearty winter soup that I plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Attended a vegan potluck recently and this was one of the best recipes there. I added vegetable stock base to the water when I made it. This is an exceedingly simple soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Easy, easy to prepare and delicious to eat. Great for cold winter days when a hearty soup is the only thing that will warm you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States