Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is an excellent, hearty soup. It's easy to make and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisa Wolf Schrock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is an outstanding soup - really delicious and healthy! One of the best soups I have ever made. The spicing is perfect. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did add some extra water, though. I started with the 7 1/2 cups, but if it looked like it was getting really thick I added a cup of water every now and then while it was simmering. I probably ended up using about 10 cups of water total. So perfect for a chilly evening - thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made it in the crockpot (just dumped all the ingredients at once and let it cook for 8 hours on low). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic. The only think I would do differently next time is cut the potatoes into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Awesome! I did 9 cups of water, used 2 small/medium red potatoes. It burnt a little on the bottom but actually gave it a great smokey taste to it! My boyfriend loved it, thinking without ham it wouldn't be as flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
It is good, a great place to start but i omitted the carrots and potatoes and used olive oil and added a tbs of liquid smoke and a 1/2 brown rice(wish i had left the rice out). Also, a little more garlic ! Very yum and authentic tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Everyone loved this soup. I made it exactly according to the directions with one exception: I added 2-3 T vegetable base (Better Than Bouillon brand) during the last 30 minutes of cooking to pump up the flavor. Served with homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Perfect as is and so easy to play if in the mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is my absolute favorite soup. It does take long, but its soooo worth it. I wouldn't change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Loved it! I'm always annoyed at those who completely change the recipe and then rate, but I took the advice of other regarding the liquid amount. I added 1 cup of white wine and one cup of organic vegetable broth when I added the vegetables for the last hour of cooking. I stirred in fresh thyme and basil, instead of dried, before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai Keli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States