Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I followed some of the other reviewers and made the following adjustments; omitted the barley, as I did not have any, added some chopped ham and a bone, used about 10 cups of water, simmered on the stove for a few hours, and used only one potato. I actually had some leftover parsley, which I added, it gave the soup a wonderful flavor. Very good, next time I'll use Barley and omit the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Fantastic! I only had sweet potatoes, which ended up being a great substitution, raising the savory factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I like a quick cook soup when I'm making lunch for the week on a Sunday night. I sautéed my onions, celery and garlic together then added the potatoes, carrots, spices, barley and peas and 12 cups of water seasoned with vegan veggie cubes. Brought to a boil and summered for about an hour and 20 minutes and came out perfect! Not too thick not too thin! I did have some sticking but I didn't use a heavy pot so that was probably my downfall. The soup however was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made this for 30 people on Good Friday luncheon, everyone was surprised it was vegan, don't need any ham or bacon, the flavor is so good! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecelia Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Madras, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is WONDERFUL! My family really enjoyed this soup. I did find that it needed twice the amount of herbs, as another reviewer suggested, to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this using red lentils instead of split peas. It was good still but the lentils did not have as much flavor as the peas would have, because of that, I did season my bowl with some curry powder and Sriacha and it was pretty good that way. The kids liked it as it was made with no additional seasonings. I cooked it in the slow cooker for about 3 1/2 hours on high. I just threw everything in at once. I will make this again with peas or lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Delicious! Based on the reviews, I added about 4 cups more of water in the beginning, as well as the carrots, celery and I doubled seasonings. Added diced potatoes in the last 45 minutes (or so) of cooking. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Tastes OK, a little bland. I ended up adding an extra 1.5 cups of water and it was still too think, like smashed potatoes vs. a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. My friends and family loved this soup. I did take out the celery. Instead of the salt I used Goya's veggie seasoning and a tablespoon of curry. I must agree with the others that the soup is a thick Super thick but very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Great soup, especially the texture -- I did add more liquid, as suggested. I skipped parsley just cause i didn't have any, and I added a generous pour of balsamic vinegar at the end, because it felt like a flavor was missing (who knows, maybe it was the parsley!). That did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States