Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is the best split pea soup I've ever had! I made a few modifications, and it turned out great. I doubled the thyme and basil, and added 1 teaspoon curry, 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne. I also substituted green lentils for the barley. Finally, I pureed about half of the soup and added it back to the pot for the perfect consistency. Thanks Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I only had 1 cup of split peas and no barley, but made the soup anyway. Doubled the seasonings and added more potato. I have to say, it was really, really good. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is excellent, a real keeper. I added 4 potatoes and it was really thick and needed a lot more water than the recipe calls for. Really yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
sooooo good! i love this soup! my baby loved it too! so hearty and flavorful! you cant even tell its vegan, i honestly think adding meat would ruin it! to those who complained of having to add more water- leave the lid on while its cooking. i did and didnt have to add a drop extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Quite tasty prepared as is, which is what I did. My daugher sprinkled on about a tablespoon of homemade bacon bits that I always keep in the freezer, and she said that pushes up the rating to five starts. For me however, I was aiming for a vegetarian dish. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a full-bodied, satisfying, nutritious, delicious soup, far better than anything I've ever gotten out of a can. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I omitted the barley and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I omitted the barley and added a few shakes of vegetarian "bacon" bits. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My family loved this recipe, I used dried parsley and it worked just as well just had to add a little more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I used a pressure cooker and with the saute time, it only took 40 min! I sauteed all the veggies first, at the same time. I added the rest of the ingredients along with veggie stock and water. The soup came out way too thick. I added one cup of red wine and two cups of water. Much better. I also added Mcormick bacon pieces -- they are made of soy! So, the soup it still vegan. :) Next time I'm going double the seasoning amounts and add four or five more cups of water and/or broth. A good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States