Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this today and it is wonderful. I am only going to give it 4 stars because I did make a change. I added Goya's ham flavoring which really gave it that smoky flavor but NO real ham. I will try without next time, but this was really delicious. I am sure great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very nice soup, but wow, "very thick" doesn't even begin to describe it! I added maybe double the water and it still came out almost solid. Tasty and easy to make though! I used sweet potato instead of regular potato because that was what I had. Otherwise kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very good, I added lot's of carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a great healthy dish. I halved the recipe, omitted the vegetable oil, and used dried parsley equivalent (1 tsp dried herb = 1 tbs fresh). Finally, I threw all of the ingredients into a slow cooker and cooked at low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I have made this a million times and it always sticks to the bottom of the pan and slightly burns the bottom of the pan. Other recipes don't say to cook for a total of 3 hours. Am I missing something? Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yum. This is a 4 and not a 5 because a couple changes had to be made. Like the other reviewers, I added about 12-13 cups of water to the pot, rather than the 7 1/2 cups. I also had to increase the salt and pepper to taste, and added a couple dashes of red chili pepper flakes. After these minor adjustments, the soup was absolutely perfect for a cool fall afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good recipe. It's quite thick, though, almost like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I used 4 cups of broth & 4 cups of water; doubled all the spices and used fresh herbs instead of dried, added tbsp. of crushed red pepper, paprika since I love spice. I also used marrow fat peas instead of split peas since that what I had on hand and simmered everything for 4.5-5 hours. I also added red pepper & doubled the carrots. It was hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Excellent soup! I followed the receipe except did not have barley. I added a little cumin seed sauted with the onion and garlic. And added fresh basil, tarragon from my garden. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I boiled the soup for well over the recommended 3 hours and still had some chewy peas. Overall, the recipe was tasty, but did lack that ham flavor that most split pea soups possess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States