Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Stay close by, I found myself adding more water (about 6 cups more). It was well worth the time investment. Delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I love that it not only tastes lovely but that its super healthy too. I have made this about 4 times, following the same exact recipe. Perfect soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious flavor! I halved the recipe but used almost the full amount of water and added a vegetable bouillion cube. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Probably the best split pea soup I have ever made! SO tasty! I substituted vegetable broth for the water, and left out the potatoes. I also added the carrots, celery, parsley and spices after sauteeing the onions & garlic. It is a very thick soup, so I added water from time to time during cooking to keep it the consistency we like. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great soup! We all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. I followed the advise to speed cook the peas by putting in the crock pot on high for 2 hrs. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I adore this soup. I'm neither vegan or vegetarian, but this is so good. Sometimes I use broth instead of water, sometimes I omit the celery, and I've added broccoli to it as well. It's excellent every time! I always have to add more liquid, as it really is very thick - more like chowder than soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is such a good alternative to the real thing. I used one vegetable broth bouillon to ensure it ended up with enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Delicious! Seriously hearty soup. After reading reviews, I omitted the potatoes and parsley, and also added the carrots/celery at the beginning, with the onions. I ended up using 5 cups of veggie broth and 5 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love all the natural ingredients in this recipe and the inclusion of Barley. Though I was very thrown off by the reviews as many people stated that the soup turned out too thick. I followed one review that said to throw everything in a crock pot and cook on high for 3 hours. I did just that-3 hours later the peas were still crunchy...I used dried split peas. I then added 3 more hours and the peas never softened up. I was very disappointed. I now have the soup in an actual pot where it has been cooking for 2 MORE hours and the peas are still not soft. I think next time I will just stick with the original instructions to use a big pot and simmer on the stove. Other than that, I am really impressed with the overall flavor, and I am sure when the peas are cooked, it will taste even better! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States