Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joanna Albright
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Yes, I made it. Very delicious, and I have a picky family. Very easy to make. House smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Albright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
verry thick. I had to add more water. Didn't take the full 3 hours, maybe 2+. Also added a little more salt. Very good tho. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I soaked the split peas before I started the recipe as another reviewer suggested and I substituted 3 c of vegetable stock for 3 c of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Stickley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
i made it almost exactly as the recipes but did not use, barley or parsley and added 1/2 c brown rice, and 1/2 c broccoli but the recipe is really delicious in its original form, the spices are perfect in the original recipe and loved the potatoes in it/ the original recipe tastes better than my variation/i didn't use parsley or barley/ i tasted the original recipe before i put the brown rice, and broccoli in and liked the taste more of the origianl recipe. this is probably the best split peas soup recipe i've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Marth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was thick and delicious - a perfect soup for cold winter nights. Even though I cooked it for four hours, the peas were still a little hard; next time I'd cook them for five hours. I'd also leave out the potatoes - they were bland and didn't add anything to the soup. I did, though, add a sweet potato I had lying around, and it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was a very easy soup to make, and it was very hardy. DH and I both really enjoyed the soup. DH had to add a little salt to his, but overall it was a creamy, thick soup that hit the spot. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly for the crockpot and this was a real winner in my house. It's wonderful, flavorful and very filling. The only thing I did differently was to add BOILING water to the vegetables. Also, after about 3 hours, I added another 6 cups of boiling water because the mixture was becoming too thick to stir. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This has been my go to split pea soup recipe for a couple of years. I use vegetable broth instead of water and usually end up using at least 4 cups more broth as the peas, barley and potatoes take on moisture and thicken. This soup is a winner and it's incredibly nutritious as well as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicoGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Great, easy recipe with a delicious outcome. I used a mix of vegetable broth and water...and used probably another 1.5 cups of liquid than the recipe calls for. Also, I added my veggies after about 1.5 hours instead of waiting for 2 hours because I noticed the peas had almost completely broken down (not necessarily a bad thing). Soup was done in 2 hrs. If you want your peas to have more structure, I suggest adding the veggies an hour early. I will definitely make this again. The barley is an awesome touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great recipe. I used a pressure cooker and it cooked in half the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States