Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Perfect as is and so easy to play if in the mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is my absolute favorite soup. It does take long, but its soooo worth it. I wouldn't change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Loved it! I'm always annoyed at those who completely change the recipe and then rate, but I took the advice of other regarding the liquid amount. I added 1 cup of white wine and one cup of organic vegetable broth when I added the vegetables for the last hour of cooking. I stirred in fresh thyme and basil, instead of dried, before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai Keli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is delicious! I used Vegan Broth instead of water and skipped the celery. I also added 2 tsp of cumin toward the end of the cooking time to add a smoky flavor. I pureed 1/2 of the soup and added it back to the chunky soup. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Pretty good. I made it as directed, but added more water when it all got absorbed. Next time I might add some more spices, more garlic, and maybe some white wine, but overall a very yummy and nutritious soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Made this last night and it is indeed good. Creamy, comforting, perfect for a cool fall evening. Didn't need additional water as some of the other reviewers have stated. I did however have to cook it for a good hour longer than the recipe said. It's not big on flavor (but that was expected) so I used bacon salt (which is vegan) instead of regular sea salt and added Bill's Best Chik'nish Seasoning. Would make again, though I'd probably do it in the pressure cooker. All told, this soup took me about four and a half hours to make. That's just too much for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made a big pot of this soup on Sunday. I used vegetable stock instead of water, but then added 4 cups or so of water as it cooked. I also added extra veggies. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Sometimes I add about 1-2 Tbs of the dry chicken bouillon to prefect the flavor a bit, but this is one of the only recipes that I will actually follow because it is so good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Keppler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made this soup because it was the first "Vegan split pea soup" that came up when I did a google search. It is FANTASTIC! Even my non-vegan friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States