Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is an excellent, hearty soup. It's easy to make and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisa Wolf Schrock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is an outstanding soup - really delicious and healthy! One of the best soups I have ever made. The spicing is perfect. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did add some extra water, though. I started with the 7 1/2 cups, but if it looked like it was getting really thick I added a cup of water every now and then while it was simmering. I probably ended up using about 10 cups of water total. So perfect for a chilly evening - thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made it in the crockpot (just dumped all the ingredients at once and let it cook for 8 hours on low). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic. The only think I would do differently next time is cut the potatoes into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Awesome! I did 9 cups of water, used 2 small/medium red potatoes. It burnt a little on the bottom but actually gave it a great smokey taste to it! My boyfriend loved it, thinking without ham it wouldn't be as flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
It is good, a great place to start but i omitted the carrots and potatoes and used olive oil and added a tbs of liquid smoke and a 1/2 brown rice(wish i had left the rice out). Also, a little more garlic ! Very yum and authentic tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Everyone loved this soup. I made it exactly according to the directions with one exception: I added 2-3 T vegetable base (Better Than Bouillon brand) during the last 30 minutes of cooking to pump up the flavor. Served with homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Perfect as is and so easy to play if in the mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is my absolute favorite soup. It does take long, but its soooo worth it. I wouldn't change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Loved it! I'm always annoyed at those who completely change the recipe and then rate, but I took the advice of other regarding the liquid amount. I added 1 cup of white wine and one cup of organic vegetable broth when I added the vegetables for the last hour of cooking. I stirred in fresh thyme and basil, instead of dried, before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai Keli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States