Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup is so good. I make it quite often. I made slight modifications to it though. I use 4 cups of vegetable broth and 5 cups of water. I dice up the potatoes and carrots and mix them in a bowl with the basil, black pepper and about 1/2 a tablespoon of canola oil and place them in the oven until browned. Then add this to the soup with the remaining ingredients after its been simmering for two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
so tasty and comforting on a cold dreary day. Had to more than double the liquid by the time all was said and done, but I was making a smaller quantity. Used veggie broth and bouillon instead of plain water to add more flavor and doubled the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I am editing an earlier review. The cook time and water measurements are off- I needed to add a lot more water. I am adding stars because after this sat the flavors really developed- we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wow! What a coincidence! This is almost exactly my recipe. I'll give it 5 Stars since I already know it's good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Overall this was pretty good. I have some barley and was looking for a recipe to use it up. I made this without the celery since I am not a huge fan. I also only had a little more than 1/2 a cup of split peas so that is all I put in. I did add a little extra barley though since I had plenty. After an hour of simmering the soup started to burn at the bottom so I had to add some more water (only a cup though... I'm a little sad I did not read the reviews ahead this time). It looked like the split peas and barley were done though, so I added the carrots and just 1 potato thinking they may not get fully cooked without the rest of the soup burning. And I was right. I used only 1/2 teaspoon of parsley because I only had dried and that was enough.I think I may try this again but definitely with MORE WATER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I give it 2 stars for being healthy and economical to make, but it was sooo bland! I even added broth instead of water. However i did have to add water to keep it from burning and getting completely dry. And it took forever to cook. I should've made lentil soup. I am not vegan but I don't eat pork or other meats so I would sure love to find a good split pea recipe. This one just did not do it for me. Revision-(I edited my review and added a star, since my younger son ate 2 bowls as a snack after baseball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is the best soup I have made so far! I usually use 1/2 broth and 1/2 water and that makes it super flavorful! It is so forgiving too. Try it even if don't have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great recipe... I'm not a fan of split pea soup, but this one I'll make again. I did modify it a little. After sautéing onions, garlic, & bay leaves (used 2), I simmered the peas (left out the barley in this step) in 6 c vegetable broth for an hour. Then added double the spices, veggies as called for, 3 cups water, and medium barley.. Bring back up to a boil, then simmer for an hour. It made the soup hearty with lots of banging flavor. (my bag of peas said they could be ready in 20-30 mins. Sorry I forgot to get the brand.) Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Every adult in my family loved it, and went back for 3rds & 4ths. Only thing I did differently was add a little more salt to my taste, but that is a personal pref. And I did soak the peas overnight, which did shorten the cooking time. It was ready in about 2 1/2 hrs. from start to finish. I had planned to add some chopped ham to the pot after I fed lunch to my vegan son-in-law, but it was so good I didn't want to mess it up. And please ... be sure to add the barley! That is what makes this so hearty and unique. You can't taste it. It just gave the soup a nice "meaty" texture. One daughter said this was her fav dish of all that I make. That says a lot, 'cuz she likes everything I cook. Try it!! You will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is an excellent, hearty soup. It's easy to make and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisa Wolf Schrock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States