Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very filling! I halved this soup, both bc I only had a cup of split peas and because it's just two of us. I kept the spices as directed for a full recipe, though, and am glad I did. I put this in the crock pot all day. I had it on high for about 4 hours, then changed it to low for the last six. I added two more cups of water and vegetable bullion to this. Hubs liked it but thought that it needed chicken. Since this is a vegan recipe, I'm amused, but I suppose since we aren't vegan it doesn't matter for us. I added leftover chicken to our leftovers of this soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great recipe, but requires a few tweaks. As many have mentioned, using the water amount recommended makes the soup incredibly thick. Most will definitely want to add more water, but what is important to remember is if you are going to add more water, you will have more soup, and some of the key ingredients adding to the flavor, such garlic, salt, onion, parsley get watered down as well. So keep in mind you will probably want to use more of all these ingredients, especially the garlic. I'd recommend at least double the 3 cloves they recommend, and even 10 or more doesn't seem to overdo it. I did not think it required more celery, carrots or potato...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this soup today. I did not use barley or potatoes because i did not have them in my home. But I can say that this vegan soup is AWESOME!!!! I love it!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best split pea soup I've ever had! I did add more water as it was needed - but it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I skipped the barley, used 1 potato, 2 stalks of celery, and 2 carrots instead. I love how easy this was the make and the flavor of it. I added 1/2 cup of split pea after the 3 hour mark because I wanted a little more texture. Probably need to cook for another 30 minutes and then will turn off the stove. Will definitely make it again and highly recommend this. Great alternative to a typical ham split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Omitted barley and substituted 1/2 cup of brown rice and 1/4 cup of couscous. Also omitted celery because I didn't have any on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Lars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this soup yesterday and it was delicious. I tripled the batch and it's all gone! Between me, my mom and two younger siblings, we ate it all. I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil, bay seasoning for the bay leaf and did not add barley as we've already been getting enough carbs of that sort via excessive amounts of christmas cookies. :p but anyhoozles, i strongly recommend this recipe. very easy and delicious. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great vegan spilt pea soup! The barley adds a great touch. When I make it again, I'll probably add a little more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very Hearty Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was delicious! If you do it in a crock-pot (as I did last night), be sure to cook on high for 3 hours. I added a bit more salt and pureed about 2 cups of the soup. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States