Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Tastes OK, a little bland. I ended up adding an extra 1.5 cups of water and it was still too think, like smashed potatoes vs. a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. My friends and family loved this soup. I did take out the celery. Instead of the salt I used Goya's veggie seasoning and a tablespoon of curry. I must agree with the others that the soup is a thick Super thick but very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Great soup, especially the texture -- I did add more liquid, as suggested. I skipped parsley just cause i didn't have any, and I added a generous pour of balsamic vinegar at the end, because it felt like a flavor was missing (who knows, maybe it was the parsley!). That did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This soup is excellent!! I will make it again for sure. After reading other comments I made this in the crockpot. I followed the recipe exactly except I used 8 cups of vegetable broth instead of water. I also did not put potatoes or parsley in my soup. It was fabulous! You can't beat a great vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Needs more salt, but other than that I really liked this recipe. I used to use a ham bone to season my soup, but I much prefer this healthier option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Wow, so tasty and filling. I left out barley (made it gluten free) and potato (didn't have on hand) it worked out perfectly and I don't think I would add potato next time. I liked the full pea flavor. Only other change was I used Italian seasoning in place of the dried seasonings called for. I imulsified partially to leave a slight chunkyness. I will definetly make again and again. So inexpensive and easy. Mine didn't take as long as recipe called for. Upon sitting it thickened up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very delicious. We are not vegetarian, so I used chicken broth instead of the water and salt. Added about an additional 3/4 teaspoon of salt and a sprinkle of cayenne. I didn't use barley and forgot to add the parsley, but didn't miss it. Also added some turkey kielbasa. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This was quite good; I did miss the ham I would usually put in split pea soup, but it was still very rich and filling with good flavor without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Used all ingredients except for barley and instead of fresh parsley I used dried. I just threw it all in the crock pot on high. It cooked in about 4 hours. The only thing I added was Bragg's liquid aminos. It was wonderful! The herbs were just right! Thanks for a very yummy recipe! Even my picky eaters liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I'm not vegan, but I ADORE this split pea recipe! Nice to have a split pea recipe that doesn't need meat, just in case I've run out of meat. But I didn't feel that this recipe needed it. was very fulfilling and lively on the tongue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States