Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I had some dried split peas on hand, and I feared that I wouldn't be able to find a flavorful split pea soup recipe. This one convinced me that it's possible! It was great and full of flavor. I'm not a vegan, though, so I used homemade chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiedidbug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Definitely use 12 cups of water from the beginning or else the soup will be too thick, and in danger of burning. Even with the 12 cups, you will need to stir occasionally, or the bottom may burn. I made this for a friend and didn't think I would like it, but this recipe is absolutely delicious, and I've already made it twice in 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I eliminated the barley, added curry,cumin, leeks, and liquid smoke. I also used half water and half vegetable broth and kept the lid on to eliminate liquid evaporation. I also soaked the peas for a few hours which expedited the cooking process and made for a soup that was "self pureeed".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is the best split pea soup I've ever had! I made a few modifications, and it turned out great. I doubled the thyme and basil, and added 1 teaspoon curry, 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne. I also substituted green lentils for the barley. Finally, I pureed about half of the soup and added it back to the pot for the perfect consistency. Thanks Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I only had 1 cup of split peas and no barley, but made the soup anyway. Doubled the seasonings and added more potato. I have to say, it was really, really good. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is excellent, a real keeper. I added 4 potatoes and it was really thick and needed a lot more water than the recipe calls for. Really yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
sooooo good! i love this soup! my baby loved it too! so hearty and flavorful! you cant even tell its vegan, i honestly think adding meat would ruin it! to those who complained of having to add more water- leave the lid on while its cooking. i did and didnt have to add a drop extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Quite tasty prepared as is, which is what I did. My daugher sprinkled on about a tablespoon of homemade bacon bits that I always keep in the freezer, and she said that pushes up the rating to five starts. For me however, I was aiming for a vegetarian dish. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a full-bodied, satisfying, nutritious, delicious soup, far better than anything I've ever gotten out of a can. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I omitted the barley and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States