Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I boiled the soup for well over the recommended 3 hours and still had some chewy peas. Overall, the recipe was tasty, but did lack that ham flavor that most split pea soups possess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This has come out so delicious each time I make it, although I tweak a few things. First of all, I don't typically have barley lying around, so skip that. Use olive oil instead of veg oil. Vegetable broth instead of water. I think that adds a little more flavor. And dried parsley instead of fresh, which comes out fine. This soup is amazing and especially yummy leftover, although it's so thick that you really need to add quite a bit of water when reheating or you'll have more of a split pea porridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I love this soup! I added too much barley and it dried up like a lake in the desert but some vegetable broth smoothed it right out (I'll measure more carefully next time!). This is fantastic, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Recipe is great! I ended up using an additional 2 cups of water during the last hour to thin it out a bit. I added the spices when i first sauteed the onions and then added more spice to it when it started cooking. I probably tripled the spices all together. A very hearty and healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. I cut the cooking time by an hour by throwing in the carrots, potatoes, and celery at the hour and a half mark. At that time I also added 3 extra cups of water. I finished it off by adding a lot of black pepper. Spectacular!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Really good-the best I've had. It is sorta like Amy's canned split pea and California Pizza Kitchens- but way better! I didn't even miss the ham. I only have one suggestion. Save the black pepper for right before you eat it and use 3-4 turns of freshly ground black pepper. Also, it doesn't say to cover when simmering, but that made it super moist. I froze the remainder of mine in 2 cup servings and it heated up great. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This recipe is great and so simple. I've made it many times, following the recipe exactly (well, almost exactly - I usually omit the salt and add salt to taste once it's in my bowl). Try it! You'll like :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This soup turned out great. I substituted a few things because of what I had on hand. I was out of barley so I replaced it with a 1/2 cup of Trader Joe's harvest grains blend (couscous,orzo,baby garbanzo beans and red quinoa) and added about 8 small baby red potatoes. Also replaced half the water with vegetable stock and added just a touch od red pepper flakes. We were out of celery so it didn't make it into the soup. The consistency was perfect and it was well liked. We will definitely make this again and will also prepare the original way, which I'm sure is wonderful. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Full of flavor! Great soup to make and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. Never had a desire to eat split pea anything but then found out how much fiber split peas have. My family and friends that aren't vegan loved it as well. :) THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States