Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is such a good alternative to the real thing. I used one vegetable broth bouillon to ensure it ended up with enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Delicious! Seriously hearty soup. After reading reviews, I omitted the potatoes and parsley, and also added the carrots/celery at the beginning, with the onions. I ended up using 5 cups of veggie broth and 5 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love all the natural ingredients in this recipe and the inclusion of Barley. Though I was very thrown off by the reviews as many people stated that the soup turned out too thick. I followed one review that said to throw everything in a crock pot and cook on high for 3 hours. I did just that-3 hours later the peas were still crunchy...I used dried split peas. I then added 3 more hours and the peas never softened up. I was very disappointed. I now have the soup in an actual pot where it has been cooking for 2 MORE hours and the peas are still not soft. I think next time I will just stick with the original instructions to use a big pot and simmer on the stove. Other than that, I am really impressed with the overall flavor, and I am sure when the peas are cooked, it will taste even better! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
SOOOOOO GOOD! I did add extra water (3 1/2 cups). I have also made it when I didn't have barley and just substituted with 1/2 cup split peas and it's still delish. If you aren't vegan or veggie I might recommend adding crumbled chicken sausage for additional flavor (it doesn't need it, but my boyfriend sure loves it this way!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup is fantastic--delicious and very nourishing. I quick-soaked the peas (cooked them in water for 2 hours on high in my Crock Pot) and used a whole bag instead of just two cups. I also used 4 cups of vegetable stock and 3 1/2 cups of water. I omitted the barley and doubled the spices. To cut cooking time, I sauteed ALL of the vegetables together until the onions were glossy, and then added the rest of the ingredients and brought the whole thing to a boil. Then I reduced the heat, covered it, and simmered it for 90 minutes--and it was absolutely perfect. A great recipe and very versatile--thanks, Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I give this recipe. If followed, along with Deborah Sah' suggestions, this is the best pea soup recipe I ever made! Yes, I did have to add a little more water as I cooked it as she suggested. I will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I added quinoi instead of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Made this last night and it turned out wonderfully! It did not take nearly as long as the recepie states thought, which was a nice surprise. I subed veg. broth for the water which added nice flavor. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
SO GOOD! The best Split Pea Soup I've tasted, very hearty and filling. I modified slightly: left out the barley, used 8 cups of veg broth (more flavor - I like Better Than Bullion) and only used one potato. I've made this twice now, and experimented with consistency. It's good on the chunky side (half blended, half not), but I prefer a pretty smooth texture, so think I'll blend 100% from now on. Keeps well, makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I am anything but a Vegan but I made this and it was awesome. I added extra garlic. I think next time I will cut the veggies smaller. It is better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon-Mikel Bailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States