Vegan Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Although these were tasty, they are very soupy beans. I cut the broth in half and still had to cook them down for quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
My husband made this to go into a burrito. It was more like a bean soup than refried beans. Good flavor after adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
a great foundation recipe that you can adapt to your mood. My only critique is you most definitely need salt and pepper. I followed the proportions in the recipe. Once I added salt it did not taste overly tomato-y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Easy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Delicious! I had a 'mexican night' for my family and friends and made these along with enchiladas, guacamole, salsa, tortilla chips, etc. They were a huge hit and a great healthy alternative to the canned kind. I followed the recipe exactly and loved it, although i did find it needed to be cooked a little longer - closer to about 20-25 mins to make sure the liquid cooked out enough to reach the desired consistantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I agree that less tomato paste and broth should be used. I plan to try this recipe again, but reduce each of those ingredients by about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitewood, Virginia, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I agree that you don't need nearly as much tomato paste nor broth. The flavor wasn't too bad, but I think I'll just stick to the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Too runny. . .but, you might be able to add sour cream and make a good bean dip. Thanks, Nannie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I found that this recipe is geared toward tomato-lovers. For those who want a less tomatoey refried beans recipe, my suggestion would be to cut back on the amount of tomato paste used. Otherwise, it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
these ended up being a little too bland for my taste, but with a LOT of chili powder and some salt, they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States