Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
For the most part, this is a great recipe. I made no changes initially but was forced to during the cooking. I made it as written but found that it needed more liquid to be added and I used the other half can of coconut milk. The curry powder i used is a red curry powder made by mccormicks. I didn't have any fenugreek so I added a tsp of Greek seasoning instead. I cut my squash fairly small. About 3/4 inch cubes and I had to cook it15minuts longer than the recipe called for. I also felt like needed a bit more of something so I added two tsp of "better than bullion" vegetable base. The vegetable broth really made the dish. I like my lentil soups to have a little lemon so I added a tbsp of lemon juice. Overall this was really good. Thick and filling. Great for my winter meatless Mondays. I will make this again. Be aware if you like your lentils to still be whole, this long simmer turns them into mush. Personally I like this but if you don't you should maybe partially cook the squash for 15 minutes or so before adding the lentils
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I had all the ingredients on hand except the squash and fenugreek. I substituted sweet potato and a pinch of dry mustard for those missing ingredients. My whole family loved the soup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup is delicious. My entire family enjoyed it. I did not use cilantro or fenugreek as I didn't have any on hand. I used my whole butternut squash, which was more like 2 cups (maybe more) added extra lentils and used the entire can of coconut milk (it's the kind of leftover I will not use in time). That said, I added a little extra water...and what really made this dish for me was adding a two big spoonfuls of apple preserves from a local farm- its chunky like chutney and it adds the best mix of flavor to the curry and ginger, with a sweet hint of apple. Yum! Blended it all in the blender to make creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Added shredded carrots and tofu, 1/2 tsp cumin, splash of lime juice. Better on day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
OK - I changed it up quite a bit to work with what we had here in our home and it turned out amazing. Try this instead -1 cup of fingerling potatoes instead of squash, juice of 1/2 lime, dried cilantro instead of fresh, no fenugreek seeds, ground ginger instead of the root, and double the water (I may have even tripled the water - I just kept adding more as it thickened). I used my immersion blender to pulverize the potatos when they were cooked through. Soup has a wonderful texture and flavor. I would monitor the consistency of the soup as it cooks - it can become very thick - I would err on the side of adding more water to get it to the write consistency - you don't want it to be like paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I only had buttercup squash instead if buttercup, and it was amazing! Very flavorful and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great soup! Even my teenager's like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe twice with minimal changes: olive oil instead of peanut, adding mushrooms and increased amount of curry. It was a hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Great soup, all the flavors come together nicely. Might increase the fenugreek seeds next time to bring out more flavor or use the powder. A nice soup to experiment with, as others have mentioned, but also delicious just as written. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was good. I added TWO pinches of cayenne and it was way too hot for me. I had to cut it with some yogurt which actually tasted yummy! I used frozen butternut squash chunks. I didn't care for the texture. Next time I will try sweet potato in place of the squash. The flavor of the broth is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States