Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved this soup! I had most of the ingredients so started to follow the recipie. Even with the fenugreek. Then I eliminated the last 5 ingredients, except for salt and pepper, substituted thai green curry paste. Added portaabellas chopped, last 15 min. and last 5 min. some baby spinich leaves. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I don't typically like soup, or lentils! I made this at my vegan-husband's request, and was surprised that it was so good. Like another reviewer, I replaced the water with veggie broth and added an extra cup of water. I thought it needed salt and heat—so added 1 t. salt, 1 t. ancho chili powder and a dash of hot chili oil. It's thick—I poured it over a baked potato; my husband and kid ate it like soup. BTW: Red lentils were found in the "bin" food and are actually orange—if you are trying to hunt them down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrapharrison
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Wow! I absolutely loved this soup. I made the recipe exactly as written. I served it topped with toasted coconut, some cilantro and chopped green onion. It was so creamy and hearty! I'm already looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is an easy, delicious recipe, which can serve as a base for root vegetables in addition to butternut squash. I have tried variations with combinations of parsnips, carrots, turnips, beets, potatoes, etc and they are all good. The red lentils take so little time to cook that I add them at the end, and that way the soup is not as mushy. I think the name of the soup is a misnomer as the squash, not the red lentils, dominates. I call this soup Butternut/Red Lentil soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Didn't change a thing- one of the best recipes I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I cook a lot of Indian food and this is great. Very adaptable. I followed it except :I used ghee instead of peanut oil, sweet potatoes instead of squash, skipped the curry powder and added turmeric. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was very tasty and healthy. I blended all of it at the end. My husband did not like it as much as I did, but then he is not a big fan of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
We made this soup for a church fundraiser and it went so fast! People loved it. I couldn't find the fenugreek seeds, so I left them out, and I don't think it suffered much. It still came out extremely tasty. People asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
For the most part, this is a great recipe. I made no changes initially but was forced to during the cooking. I made it as written but found that it needed more liquid to be added and I used the other half can of coconut milk. The curry powder i used is a red curry powder made by mccormicks. I didn't have any fenugreek so I added a tsp of Greek seasoning instead. I cut my squash fairly small. About 3/4 inch cubes and I had to cook it15minuts longer than the recipe called for. I also felt like needed a bit more of something so I added two tsp of "better than bullion" vegetable base. The vegetable broth really made the dish. I like my lentil soups to have a little lemon so I added a tbsp of lemon juice. Overall this was really good. Thick and filling. Great for my winter meatless Mondays. I will make this again. Be aware if you like your lentils to still be whole, this long simmer turns them into mush. Personally I like this but if you don't you should maybe partially cook the squash for 15 minutes or so before adding the lentils
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I had all the ingredients on hand except the squash and fenugreek. I substituted sweet potato and a pinch of dry mustard for those missing ingredients. My whole family loved the soup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States