Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is delicious! I did add three celery stalks and a carrot, gave it great texture. Instead of coconut milk (I was out, oops) I sub-ed in coconut milk with coconut oil. Worked. The only thing, took about 45 minutes longer to cook than listed (and needed about a cup more water as it simmered down)! Worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOSLAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This is great! It's sweet and feels like Thanksgiving. I doubled the squash since I couldn't find a smaller squash. It worked out great. I did have to cook it for probably 1 hour 15 minutes and add more water. I also added a little cinnamon at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Fantastic! I also used more squash b/c I had it there. Next time I may try to mash the squash first to give the soup and thicker sweeter taste.without the chunks. The soup pot is small, I will also double next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
9.9 - very tasty It took 4 cups of water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Very good, I halved the amount of cayenne and it was still very spicy. Like other reviewers, I added more liquid, but I found that it did not need to cook that long (I do not like my lentils to turn into mush).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This was extremely good! I used the whole can of coconut milk and like everyone else I had to add at least another cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
i loved this soup. it was easy and delicious. i roasted the squash in the oven and then pureed it before adding it to the soup, this made for a delicious, creamy spicy soup! delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This soup is killer!! I added a vegetable boullion cube, a jonagold apple and extra spices and it was perfect as a main dish with sourdough bread for dipping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
reminds me a bit of the thai soup tom-ka. i used a bit more cilantro, because i adore it, and served it with freshly chopped cilantro on top and a scoop of plain greek yogurt. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States