Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I followed the recipes exactly, including fenugreek seeds. It was pretty good, but I prefer other lentil soups better. I might make it again for a party or something, in that is is good and is unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Nongard

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Really enjoyed this dish. I changed it a little bit because I did not have fenugreek or cilantro. I added lemon juice. I also added chicken and chicken broth instead of the water which I realize goes against the whole vegan thing but I'm not so it's ok. I accidentally used an acorn squash as well which is just what I had and is what is in season around here. Thanks for the great recipe, hope I didn't butcher it too much for the next person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe hands down. I follow the recipe to the tee aside from substituting vegetable broth for the water and using an extra cup so it isn't so thick. A wonderfully flavorful recipe if you love indian spices like my family does. It has been a regular in our rotation of winter soups for over a year! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I thought this was amazing! Thank you for sharing. These were my tweeks only because i didn't have on hand a few of the items: I used Olive instead of Peanut oil, I had no Fenugreek seeds, I used some sun dried tomatoes instead of paste. I will be using this soup recipe often, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
With a little extra water I loved the consistancy of this soup, creamy and smooth, but it really lacked flavor. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and didn't care for it. I doubled the curry powder and added a little more cayenne and some salt and pepper and then it was very tastey. I would recommend making it the day before as it was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Sorry, but this soup just wasn't for me. I was going to rate 3 stars but since my husband said it was ok I'm giving 4 stars. I used organic chicken broth instead of water, other than that I followed the recipe exactly as is. I don't think I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this exactly per the recipe except I used sweet potatoes instead of squash (not a huge butternut squash fan), and added a little chopped carrot just to use up what was in the fridge. Delicious!!! We're not even vegan at my house, we just like to try making tasty-sounding things, and this was definitely tasty. The combination of sweet, spicy, toasty, and creamy is just delightful. My local chain grocer was out of fenugreek seeds, but I found them at a little middle eastern grocery store down the street for a GREAT price. My husband was raving about the smell the whole time this was simmering. I had to simmer it about 15 minutes longer than called for, but it turned out great. I sauteed the carrots with the onions and the consistency was perfect at the end. I wish I hadn't lost my immersion blender years ago in a move, because I imagine this would be good blended up a little, but I wasn't about to go through the trouble of dragging out my regular blender. It was perfect as-is anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This soup is delicious! I did a couple of variations according to reviewers and had to improvise with what I had on hand. First off, I used a whole can of light coconut milk but did not increase the water, but decreased it to about 1 1/2 cups. I used acorn squash as I didn't have butternut. Another reviewer mentioned using fennel as I also did not have fenugreek. I tried fennel but will probably leave that out next time. Also, instead of tomato paste I used a can of diced tomatoes, added gharam masala and cumin in addition to the spices listed in the recipe. I love the spice and coconut flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This soup was a big hit with my family! I made a couple of small changes. I replaced the water with vegetable broth and doubled the amount. I added the entire can of tomato paste. I left out the fenugreek seeds. I put the soup in the blender after I cooked it and it came out velvety smooth. This one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We have a local Bistro that serves Australian Lentil Soup, I have been searching for a recipe for several years by that name! When I came upon this recipe, I made it the following day, substituting sweet potatoe for the squash, I also added more broth. It was delicious, and everything I was looking for in a recipe. The flavour is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom 2-3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States