Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is a great soup, easy, hearty, tasty and fast to prepare. After a few trials I have adjusted it to my taste adding chicken cutting back on the curry and adding other seasons, like garlic salt, chicken bouillon and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Perfect as written...love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This soup is really nice! I substituted the water for chicken brother and added about a tablespoon of cumin and curry powder (I like it spicy). I also added a bit of chili sauce and the juice of two limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made all of substitutes for this because i didn't have peanut oil, fresh ginger, tomato paste, fenugreek seed, nutmeg, or cayenne and it STILL turned out amazing. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Was really good but did up the curry powder for our liking. Came together so easy and happened to have everything on hand. Added about a handful of fresh spinach chopped and about 3 mushrooms. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I did not have peanut oil, so I added about 2 teaspoons of peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Followed the recipe almost exactly, used cilantro from the spice rack rather than fresh. Outstanding soup, kind of thick after it reduces so served it over brown rice and it was very tasty. Very easy to make too, thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
At the end I added a little bit more spice and some sugar to make it more sweet and spicy, but it's a perfect base recipe that you can take and make it to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Loved this soup! And so did my family (including the 1 and 3 year olds) But we had to make a few adjustments. I pre-roasted the squash (since I was also making baby food that day). The lentils needed a much longer cooking time, and had to keep adding water along the way. Since cilantro is such a delicate herb, I added that after the cooking process (as I do when I make Tikka Masala). I also had some fresh mint around, so I added that... yum! It still needed a little something after all was completed according to the recipe - acid. So I juiced one lime and added that in, too (I had doubled the recipe for leftovers... which were even better than the fresh, of course!). Perfect. I will be making this again. There are lots of ways to augment the recipe. I love that it's vegan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
this soup should be renamed: Thebestsoupintheworld!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States