Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made all of substitutes for this because i didn't have peanut oil, fresh ginger, tomato paste, fenugreek seed, nutmeg, or cayenne and it STILL turned out amazing. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Was really good but did up the curry powder for our liking. Came together so easy and happened to have everything on hand. Added about a handful of fresh spinach chopped and about 3 mushrooms. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I did not have peanut oil, so I added about 2 teaspoons of peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Followed the recipe almost exactly, used cilantro from the spice rack rather than fresh. Outstanding soup, kind of thick after it reduces so served it over brown rice and it was very tasty. Very easy to make too, thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
At the end I added a little bit more spice and some sugar to make it more sweet and spicy, but it's a perfect base recipe that you can take and make it to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Loved this soup! And so did my family (including the 1 and 3 year olds) But we had to make a few adjustments. I pre-roasted the squash (since I was also making baby food that day). The lentils needed a much longer cooking time, and had to keep adding water along the way. Since cilantro is such a delicate herb, I added that after the cooking process (as I do when I make Tikka Masala). I also had some fresh mint around, so I added that... yum! It still needed a little something after all was completed according to the recipe - acid. So I juiced one lime and added that in, too (I had doubled the recipe for leftovers... which were even better than the fresh, of course!). Perfect. I will be making this again. There are lots of ways to augment the recipe. I love that it's vegan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
this soup should be renamed: Thebestsoupintheworld!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent. I used sesame oil because I didn't have any peanut, sauteed cubed chicken thigh fillet before adding the rest, added extra ginger, tumeric and a potato. I also added 2 cups of chicken stock. 30 min was plenty of time, even with potato. I think you could add sweet potato, carrot, spinach, peas, anything really, will try something new next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great Tasting Soup! Highly recommended recipe. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delish. Ok, I modified it to fit our family, but this is one of the top 5 soups I have eaten in my life. I substituted ground coriander for the fenugreek seeds, sweet potato for the squash, curry paste for curry powder and parsley for the cilantro. I also doubled the liquid as I had 2 cups of sweet potato. I have enough to freeze for another day, and everyone cleaned their bowls, including my 2 year old. I served with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States