Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This soup is delicious! I did not use cilantro, fenugreek seeds, cayenne paper as I did not have them in my kitchen. Instead of coconut milk I used coconut flakes and hot water mixed in blender. I turned out great! I think it is one of the best soups i have tried! Make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I am not a vegetarian, so I skipped the ginger and fenugreek and used chicken broth instead of water. I also added 2 chopped chorizos. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe. It was so yummy. I may be bias though because I love curry powder. I am by no means vegan, but trying to incorporate "meatless" meals to my family a few nights a week. I think it's important to present my family with different options that are delicious. This one is a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Delicious. I loved the red lentils as they just blend in and have a mild flavor. Even my 6 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I have prepared this for family and friends, followed instructions and met with compliments- it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I would give my adapted version 5 stars. Use veggie stock instead of water. Add more veggies, celery, mushrooms, carrot and red pepper. Use WAY more curry powder, I use a Tbsp of Garam Marsala and Siracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I knew this soup had to be good after reading the reviews. It was! It was easy to make and so flavorful. It will become one of our regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Really good, I puree a little with the hand blender before serving to make it creamier, but not all the way. I've made this a few times, and I use coconut oil instead of peanut. Perfect for this dish and healthy too. I sub sweet potatoes and use more ginger and less curry for my taste. I've never used fenugreek except for lactation tea, so I skip it in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So delicious! I made it with sweet potatoes instead of butternut, let it thicken, and then served over jasmine rice. Would also be great as a soupier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krstoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I love this soup!!! Even better the next day. I mash mine a bit with a potato masher at the end. I've made it with both butternut squash and sweet potato and didn't notice much difference in the end result. I always use stock instead of water too. I also add carrots and celery with the onion when I sautee. Everyone loves it! I've made it 4 times in the past month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States