Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Sorry, but this soup just wasn't for me. I was going to rate 3 stars but since my husband said it was ok I'm giving 4 stars. I used organic chicken broth instead of water, other than that I followed the recipe exactly as is. I don't think I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this exactly per the recipe except I used sweet potatoes instead of squash (not a huge butternut squash fan), and added a little chopped carrot just to use up what was in the fridge. Delicious!!! We're not even vegan at my house, we just like to try making tasty-sounding things, and this was definitely tasty. The combination of sweet, spicy, toasty, and creamy is just delightful. My local chain grocer was out of fenugreek seeds, but I found them at a little middle eastern grocery store down the street for a GREAT price. My husband was raving about the smell the whole time this was simmering. I had to simmer it about 15 minutes longer than called for, but it turned out great. I sauteed the carrots with the onions and the consistency was perfect at the end. I wish I hadn't lost my immersion blender years ago in a move, because I imagine this would be good blended up a little, but I wasn't about to go through the trouble of dragging out my regular blender. It was perfect as-is anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This soup is delicious! I did a couple of variations according to reviewers and had to improvise with what I had on hand. First off, I used a whole can of light coconut milk but did not increase the water, but decreased it to about 1 1/2 cups. I used acorn squash as I didn't have butternut. Another reviewer mentioned using fennel as I also did not have fenugreek. I tried fennel but will probably leave that out next time. Also, instead of tomato paste I used a can of diced tomatoes, added gharam masala and cumin in addition to the spices listed in the recipe. I love the spice and coconut flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This soup was a big hit with my family! I made a couple of small changes. I replaced the water with vegetable broth and doubled the amount. I added the entire can of tomato paste. I left out the fenugreek seeds. I put the soup in the blender after I cooked it and it came out velvety smooth. This one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We have a local Bistro that serves Australian Lentil Soup, I have been searching for a recipe for several years by that name! When I came upon this recipe, I made it the following day, substituting sweet potatoe for the squash, I also added more broth. It was delicious, and everything I was looking for in a recipe. The flavour is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom 2-3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I LOVE this soup. No one else in my family was very crazy about it UNTIL I made it a little thicker and served it over rice. Now they all love it! Excellent Thai flavours. It is one of the foods I crave, late at night...when everyone is asleep! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILLEDE6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
As per the recipe, I found it a bit lacking in spice flavor, so I added another Tbl of curry powder while cooking. Result was very good, though more of a stew than soup. Thoroughly enjoyed the result, though and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I love this recipe - it is one of the few on this site that I make repeatedly. I have made it with squash and sweet potatoes, and both turned out great. This most recent time I added about half a bag of frozen leaf spinach and I added extra ginger, and it was great - I will do that again! We are not vegetarian or vegan, but this is a super hearty vegetarian dish to try if you would like to try doing "meatless Monday" or just eating vegetarian once in a while. It is a thick consistency, but I like that. I serve it over brown rice instead of as a soup. It is also fairly flexible - I have messed up and added too much coconut milk once, and once was out of tomato paste and used some jarred marinera sauce instead, and it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
As a new vegetarian - this makes me wonder why I ever ate meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States