Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
For the most part, this is a great recipe. I made no changes initially but was forced to during the cooking. I made it as written but found that it needed more liquid to be added and I used the other half can of coconut milk. The curry powder i used is a red curry powder made by mccormicks. I didn't have any fenugreek so I added a tsp of Greek seasoning instead. I cut my squash fairly small. About 3/4 inch cubes and I had to cook it15minuts longer than the recipe called for. I also felt like needed a bit more of something so I added two tsp of "better than bullion" vegetable base. The vegetable broth really made the dish. I like my lentil soups to have a little lemon so I added a tbsp of lemon juice. Overall this was really good. Thick and filling. Great for my winter meatless Mondays. I will make this again. Be aware if you like your lentils to still be whole, this long simmer turns them into mush. Personally I like this but if you don't you should maybe partially cook the squash for 15 minutes or so before adding the lentils
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I had all the ingredients on hand except the squash and fenugreek. I substituted sweet potato and a pinch of dry mustard for those missing ingredients. My whole family loved the soup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup is delicious. My entire family enjoyed it. I did not use cilantro or fenugreek as I didn't have any on hand. I used my whole butternut squash, which was more like 2 cups (maybe more) added extra lentils and used the entire can of coconut milk (it's the kind of leftover I will not use in time). That said, I added a little extra water...and what really made this dish for me was adding a two big spoonfuls of apple preserves from a local farm- its chunky like chutney and it adds the best mix of flavor to the curry and ginger, with a sweet hint of apple. Yum! Blended it all in the blender to make creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Added shredded carrots and tofu, 1/2 tsp cumin, splash of lime juice. Better on day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
OK - I changed it up quite a bit to work with what we had here in our home and it turned out amazing. Try this instead -1 cup of fingerling potatoes instead of squash, juice of 1/2 lime, dried cilantro instead of fresh, no fenugreek seeds, ground ginger instead of the root, and double the water (I may have even tripled the water - I just kept adding more as it thickened). I used my immersion blender to pulverize the potatos when they were cooked through. Soup has a wonderful texture and flavor. I would monitor the consistency of the soup as it cooks - it can become very thick - I would err on the side of adding more water to get it to the write consistency - you don't want it to be like paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I only had buttercup squash instead if buttercup, and it was amazing! Very flavorful and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great soup! Even my teenager's like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe twice with minimal changes: olive oil instead of peanut, adding mushrooms and increased amount of curry. It was a hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Great soup, all the flavors come together nicely. Might increase the fenugreek seeds next time to bring out more flavor or use the powder. A nice soup to experiment with, as others have mentioned, but also delicious just as written. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was good. I added TWO pinches of cayenne and it was way too hot for me. I had to cut it with some yogurt which actually tasted yummy! I used frozen butternut squash chunks. I didn't care for the texture. Next time I will try sweet potato in place of the squash. The flavor of the broth is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States