Vegan Portobello Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have made this dish a couple of times already. I use all the same ingredients, but I don't follow the directions exactly, because I thought it was a bit complicated with too many bowls, extra time for marinading and an oven. Instead I threw the mushrooms and onion (I use fresh onion) into a deep skillet with the marinade sauce. I sauteed that until it is soft, about 5 minutes, then I add the sour cream sauce and toss for 1-2 minutes like it says. Then I toss in pasta. So much easier like this and it tastes great. I can't say how it compares to the original recipe, but I like the way mine turned out and it is a lot easier for me. The only ingredient I omitted is the wine because I don't have it. My hubby also really likes this and compliments it everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
WOW - this was really very good! I made it for a meat-loving dad and brother and they went back not just for seconds, but until it was all gone! I'll admit, I did cheat a little and not make it vegan, I added a little cream cheese to finish it off. I also sauteed some onions in butter. I know, I know, not the exact recipe, but OH so GOOD! This is going to be a regular recipe for me and I will do it vegan. Btw - also did some Shitake mushrooms with it and as others suggested, added the marinade into the cream sauce (yes, all of it). Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My vegan son loved this! I added about 3 tablespoons of the liquid from the mushrooms into the sauce and it made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Really tasty and very easy! We had all the ingredients in our non-vegan home aside from Vegan Sour Cream and No-Beef Bouillon. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Very good! Definitely fulfilled the creamy, meaty pasta craving! Next time I will perhaps not add "all" of the marinade to the cream sauce. And I will follow the other reviewer's recommendation to add the fresh, minced onions to the marinade or saute first. Overall excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I forgot the flour but it was still AMAZING. My meat loving family said it was hit! A definite repeat. I highly recommend this dish over tri-colored quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiev
Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is/was a delicious Sunday Dinner today. I used what ingredients were available at my home, so substitutions were made. Instead of 8 ounces vegan sour cream, I used 3/4 container of Daiya Plain Cream Cheese Style Spread. Instead of 2 teaspoons vegan no-beef bouillon, I used 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Instead of 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar, I used 1 tablespoon cider vinegar. I used the preparation method that hw3023 suggested in which that I threw the mushrooms and onion into a deep skillet with the marinade sauce. I sauteed that until it is soft, about 5 minutes, then I add the sour cream sauce and toss for 1-2 minutes like it says. Then I toss in pasta. This is an easy, delicious comforting dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I put a little more wine - and marinated it just in that. It was super tasty as is. Next time I would use garlic powder instead of minced because the texture of the minced garlic was weird to me. But flavor wise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Followed the recipe, except I put all the marinade in the pan after chopping up the mushrooms. Added sour cream mixture to it. Serve with BIG red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Wow. Great recipe. I followed it exactly except switched the vegan not-beef bouillon to regular vegetable bouillon because that's what I had in the kitchen. Everyone loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meli Mill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States