Vegan Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I tried this recipe this morning for my son and I and they were wonderful!! I especially loved the fact that the ingredients were things I already had in my pantry. No "fancy" ingredients that I would have to substitute. But, I did use 1 cup rice milk and 1/4 cup water instead of 1 1/4 cup water. I found that spreading the batter evenly with the back of a spoon really enabled the pancakes to cook evenly and not stay uncooked in the center. Wonderful recipe. And to the reviewer who stated that just because this was a good vegan subtitute for "normal pancakes" that it wasn't worth 5 stars, I would like to disagree. I don't think a regular buttermilk pancake is 5 star cuisine. I feel that vegan recipes are just just as good, if not better than "regular" food. They are much kinder to your health, the planet, and the animals who would have suffered for that buttermilk. I think this compares to the best. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
i appreciate the effort, but these aren't true vegan. switch up the white sugar with raw sugar and you've got it true vegan. i'm not vegan but my sister is, and she won't go near white processed sugar because of the way it's processed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These were very good pancakes. I picked the recipe simply because they do not include egg which my son is allergic to. After making the batter I thought it was too thick to actually make "fluffy" pancakes but I was wrong. They came out very fluffy. Also, I thought when making the batter that there was way to much sugar but added it all anyway. I'm glad I did. They were sweet but not everly so. Thanks for a great tasting and simple to make recipe. Will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The first time I made these they turned out horrible, but I'm glad I gave it another try. The second time around they were pretty good. I added some vanilla and cinnamon like I always do to pancakes for added flavor. I figured out that these will not get the color of regular pancakes, so if you wait around for them to get golden brown expect to have hockey pucks for breakfast. All in all these were good with a little tweaking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenarowland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
AWESOME! That's what my family says when I tell them we're making pancakes. Finally, a basic recipe that we can easily convert to our alkaline nutrition lifestyle (i.e., no soy, wheat, etc.). My subs: spelt flour (1 1/2C), date sugar or dark agave syrup, himalayan salt, hemp oil, and no oil on our hot griddle (350^F). For each teaspoon of baking powder, I always sub 1/4 tsp baking soda and 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice. Sprinkle a few fruit pieces on top after pouring for a treat. We also use the pancakes at supper with onions and green peppers sprinkled. Fluffy and delicious! Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akeakamai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good recipe. I used whole wheat flour instead and added 1/4 more flour to make the batter thicker. Definitely will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Awesome vegan recipe! I don't usually bother to review recipes, but these are too good not to! Added cinnamon and a bit of vanilla. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I had to add a little bit of soy milk to the batter to make these spread properly on the griddle. I would suggest pouring small amounts of the batter onto the griddle to make flat pancakes. Otherwise they turn out too thick and not cooked properly. I tried these with and without chocolate chips and both were good. However, the plain pancakes had a strangely buttery flavor that was very nice. Just because these are a good vegan substitute for normal pancakes, doesn't mean they are worth 5 stars. Regular buttermilk pancakes are worth 5 stars so we should always compare foods to the best, not just rate them 5 stars because they are "good enough" for vegans. So "5 star vegan" but "3 star universally"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
LOVED these! My children are very allergic to all animal products. So, this was great! I added a 1/2 cup canned pumpkin, 1 cup rice milk.. instead of water. I also had to add about 1/4 cup flour and 2 tbspns milled flax seed. They were amazing! We served them with baked apples on top! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These pancakes were AWESOME. Really! My stomach doesn't do well with a whole lot of fat so I figured I would give this a try. I was leary looking at the recipe because there really isn't much to them, but they were DELICIOUS. The only addition (s) I made was, I added 1t of pure vanilla extract to the wet ingredients and 1 1/2 t of cinnamon to the dry. I put a little butter on the pancakes and sprinkled brown sugar on top. Thank you so much for this recipe it really took care of my pancake fix. I will most definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States