Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I added a bit of oregano to my bowl and wow, really made it stand out. Great recipe thanks cameron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodgerchick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This recipe was very good. I omitted the hominy and added cilantro, as suggested by the original recipe. The stew came out very nice but it wasn't too filing and was kind of thin, so I probably wouldn't call it a stew myself. I like one reviewer's suggestion of adding okra, zucchini and tiny red lentils & will probably try that next time. This recipe isn't really one that you could mess up with additions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very, very good! Will definitely make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Excellent soup! I substituted home made pinto beans for the hominy. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madawaska, Maine, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Pretty good, but not exactly a stew - more like a minestrone with chili powder. I've made it twice now, and I liked it best when I threw in some red quinoa for protein, texture, and to add to the stewiness (I used it instead of hominy because even though I love grits I never got hominy!). I could imagine mashing a bit of the potato to add some thickness. In all, a fine recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
we used the leftovers as a dip. Just throw in blender and grab some tortilla chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This stew is AMAZING! My husband made this and said he followed the recipe exactly, except for using "better than boullion" instead of the cubes. This is full of flavor, and even a little spicy. Our 3.5 year old couldn't eat it, but we sure enjoyed it ourselves. THANKS for an outstanding, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was absolutely delish! It smelled good even before it was finished cooking. My family really enjoyed this and I know I wasn't the only one who came back for seconds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umexchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I scaled this recipe up and made it for 60 hungry college students at my church. It was the favorite dinner yet this year! Then I just had to make it for my family, who also greatly enjoyed the flavor! Excellent recipe! Just the right level of spice-- not too hot, still very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
i made this for a potluck and everyone raved about it! i cooked the potatoes and carrots in the veg broth and just added all of it to the soup pot when it was done boiling. i used regular can tomatoes and i used can corn instead of hominy. I also increased the chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States