Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very tasty! I just made this for dinner. I used one 15.8oz can of hominy and added one can of rinsed pinto beans for additional protein. I had no seasoned salt, either. So I had to sub for equal parts garlic powder, ancho chili powder, oregano and salt. Soooooo good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Quick, easy and very tasty! I used the one-pot method suggested by another reviewer. The only other things I did differently were 1) omitted the seasoned salt (I didn't have any) and 2) used a can of plain diced tomatoes and a can of green chilies because I did not have the tomatoes with chilies already in them. Everyone loved it and had seconds. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I love the spice in this dish but I think I would probably call it a soup rather than stew. Maybe I just added too much broth? I added light red kidney beans instead of hominy (never used it) but next time I will add corn too. I served it with crusty bread but it would've been better served with cornbread. Overall, delicious and flexible dish - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Tasty! Four star because we left out some ingredients (cumin, used tomato based chicken broth) and added more veggies. Might use less spicy next time, but not if the husband has anything to say about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Fite

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aliciafig
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I uploaded a picture. The bf is kind of skeptical of foods that do not involve meat, but he was convinced this was possibly the best he ever had. I kept all quantities, just changed the way they were fullfilled: 2.5 cups of chicken broth (had open from earlier in week) 2 cups of water/ 2 chicken bullion cubes nearly 1 tbls chili powder nearly 1 tbls cumin 14 oz hominy (was not sure if he liked it- so didnt want to stress the hominy) 14 oz frozen corn (to balance with hominy) 14 oz tomatoes with green chili (bf cannot do too much heat) 28 oz canned diced tomatoes (plain?) only used 2 pots! boiled potatoes, carrots, celery in sea salted water. drained. same pot boiled broth/bouillon. At same time started the onion et al in enameled cast iron. combined all in that pot and simmered. DIVINE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
not a vegan, but we liked it. Even the kids liked it! It was better the first time we made it, so now I have to figure out what we changed and undo it. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was a big hit! I substituted one 15 oz can of pinto beans and one of black beans for the hominy (didn't have it) and thickened it with about 4 Tablespoons of cornstarch mixed in cold water, at the end. It made the broth a nice, stew consistancy. I will add corn next time I make it. Everyone loved it! Some added more chili powder or hot sauce to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Weddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watford City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I took this good recipe and made it superb: Added a diced jalapeno to the onions and garlic; replaced canned tomatoes with 28 oz fresh, diced tomatoes plus a can of chile peppers; added a can of drained black beans; reduced the bullion to 1 cup plus 1 tablespoon of arrowroot; at end of cooking, added a bunch of chopped cilantro and 4 pureed tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Everyone loved this dish. The only change I made was adding a chopped jalepeno and skipping any salt (bouillon is plenty salty already). Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was awesome! I did add a can of black beans though. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States