Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Tasty! Four star because we left out some ingredients (cumin, used tomato based chicken broth) and added more veggies. Might use less spicy next time, but not if the husband has anything to say about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitefam

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aliciafig
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I uploaded a picture. The bf is kind of skeptical of foods that do not involve meat, but he was convinced this was possibly the best he ever had. I kept all quantities, just changed the way they were fullfilled: 2.5 cups of chicken broth (had open from earlier in week) 2 cups of water/ 2 chicken bullion cubes nearly 1 tbls chili powder nearly 1 tbls cumin 14 oz hominy (was not sure if he liked it- so didnt want to stress the hominy) 14 oz frozen corn (to balance with hominy) 14 oz tomatoes with green chili (bf cannot do too much heat) 28 oz canned diced tomatoes (plain?) only used 2 pots! boiled potatoes, carrots, celery in sea salted water. drained. same pot boiled broth/bouillon. At same time started the onion et al in enameled cast iron. combined all in that pot and simmered. DIVINE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
not a vegan, but we liked it. Even the kids liked it! It was better the first time we made it, so now I have to figure out what we changed and undo it. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was a big hit! I substituted one 15 oz can of pinto beans and one of black beans for the hominy (didn't have it) and thickened it with about 4 Tablespoons of cornstarch mixed in cold water, at the end. It made the broth a nice, stew consistancy. I will add corn next time I make it. Everyone loved it! Some added more chili powder or hot sauce to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Weddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watford City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I took this good recipe and made it superb: Added a diced jalapeno to the onions and garlic; replaced canned tomatoes with 28 oz fresh, diced tomatoes plus a can of chile peppers; added a can of drained black beans; reduced the bullion to 1 cup plus 1 tablespoon of arrowroot; at end of cooking, added a bunch of chopped cilantro and 4 pureed tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Everyone loved this dish. The only change I made was adding a chopped jalepeno and skipping any salt (bouillon is plenty salty already). Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was awesome! I did add a can of black beans though. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
LUV IT...LUV IT...MY FAM ALSO WENT WILD...ANOTHER HEALTHY DINNER OPTION.....THANK U......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was fantastic. I topped it off with cilantro, chopped jalapeno, shredded cheese, and a dollop of sour cream. Very spicy. I love it!! I want to make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
So good & hearty! I love it & will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States