Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
The only things I changed were using regular stewed tomatoes instead of the ones with chilies and using regular salt instead of seasoned salt. Maybe it's just the fact that the hominy creaped me out (I'd never even seen it before and it wasn't at all what I expected), but I made it two days ago and haven't touched it since I tasted a few spoonfuls when it finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
VERY good. Everyone in my family loved it; even the non-vegetarians! I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drjo413

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Waaay to spicy for me and the kids. I think it is the tomatoes with chilies that makes it so hot. Next time I will use one can of tomatoes with chilies and two cans of diced tomatoes without chilies. That should cool it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daggsinthedesert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebo, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
excellent soup. i made it several times when we were eating vegan during Lent. Great after an appetizer of tortilla chips with homemade salsa and guacamole (also good vegan options).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This tasted great but I sure did not like the hominy. I'd substitute whole kernel sweet corn next time. Maybe also add cubed sweet potato and sliced squash (the squash during the last 10 minutes, as it cooks quickly). These are in a Mexican Beef Stew recipe I have that is similar to this, and they work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I love it! As a new Vegan, previously, my idea of cooking was heating something in the microwave or boiling water for spaghetti. So I'm VERY new to cooking! So I always follow recipes exact and don't "tweak". I saw the recipe and it sounded delish. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it rocked! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe. I used homemade pinto beans instead of hominy. The soup tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Delicious!!! We changed a few things, but not too much. We used broth instead of boullion, no celery and (accidently, although...YUM) added double the chili powder. Very hearty and good for clearing the sinuses! I think the hominy adds the mexican flavor but I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Really awesome with a little kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Yummy. I sometimes change the amount and types of veggies, and it still comes out great. I also add tortilla chips as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States