Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a fab. dish! I made this for my friends who are vegan and raw. They chose to "cheat" when they arrived and smelled the wonderful aromas. My husband who protests Vegan/Vegetarian lifestyle, LOVED IT! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Was boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The hominey in it was great! But over all just an average stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
We make this at work and get requests for the recipe everytime we serve it. We follow the directions exactly, but I like the idea of adding pinto beans to give it some good protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
1 pot method: saute onions/garlic/spices. Then add potatoes/carrots/celery/water/boullion. Then the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
We loved this. Because I used posole (dried hominy, blue and white), which takes forever to cook, I made the stew in the slow cooker. Instead of canned tomatoes, I used 3 fresh ones and about 10 oz of locally roasted and frozen green chiles, which gave it lots of heat. I also used half red and half green chili powder, reduced the cumin just slightly, and omitted the celery. I served this with whole-wheat tortillas and topped it with sour cream (Tofutti), which added a lot to the flavor and mellowed the heat. Definitely a keeper—and fairly easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! I made the following changes, which I think bring out and mellow some of the flavors: I used a 14-oz can of white hominy and a 14-oz can of chili beans (Bush's or similar); I omitted the celery; I added 1 tbsp oregano. Instead of briefly boiling, then sauteeing the potatoes, etc., I heated the olive oil, sauteed the onion until lightly browned, added the chile powder, cumin (double the amount called for) and oregano, sauteed for 30 seconds, then added the potatoes and sauteed until lightly browned. Then I added four minced cloves of garlic, sauteed 1 minute; added hominy, beans, tomatoes and chiles, and broth. I followed the recipe from there. This produced a nice blend of flavors (not too hot or bland). Topped it with cheese, radishes and shredded cabbage as other readers suggested--it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was really good and easy to make. I added pinto beans for protein and its was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Pretty good. I will use diced tomatoes instead of rotel next time, too spicy! I exchanged corn for the hominy and that taste great. I also served mine with sour cream and shredded cheddar to mild it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
The hominy reminds me of menudo that my grandmother would make, which I can no longer eat since a vital ingredient is a cow's stomach lining. In memory of that delicious menudo, I served this soup with a splash of lemon juice and sprinkled oregano and shredded cabbage on top (I also pinched some oregano in the soup while it was cooking). Freshly diced white onion or radishes would also work well as soup-toppers too. There are so many flavors and textures in this soup, yet there are few ingredients and little work involved. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States