Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Excellent soup! I substituted home made pinto beans for the hominy. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madawaska, Maine, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Pretty good, but not exactly a stew - more like a minestrone with chili powder. I've made it twice now, and I liked it best when I threw in some red quinoa for protein, texture, and to add to the stewiness (I used it instead of hominy because even though I love grits I never got hominy!). I could imagine mashing a bit of the potato to add some thickness. In all, a fine recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
we used the leftovers as a dip. Just throw in blender and grab some tortilla chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This stew is AMAZING! My husband made this and said he followed the recipe exactly, except for using "better than boullion" instead of the cubes. This is full of flavor, and even a little spicy. Our 3.5 year old couldn't eat it, but we sure enjoyed it ourselves. THANKS for an outstanding, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was absolutely delish! It smelled good even before it was finished cooking. My family really enjoyed this and I know I wasn't the only one who came back for seconds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umexchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I scaled this recipe up and made it for 60 hungry college students at my church. It was the favorite dinner yet this year! Then I just had to make it for my family, who also greatly enjoyed the flavor! Excellent recipe! Just the right level of spice-- not too hot, still very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
i made this for a potluck and everyone raved about it! i cooked the potatoes and carrots in the veg broth and just added all of it to the soup pot when it was done boiling. i used regular can tomatoes and i used can corn instead of hominy. I also increased the chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I liked this but it needed more spice in my opinion. The Vegan person I made it for loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a fab. dish! I made this for my friends who are vegan and raw. They chose to "cheat" when they arrived and smelled the wonderful aromas. My husband who protests Vegan/Vegetarian lifestyle, LOVED IT! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Was boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States