Vegan Lentil, Kale, and Red Onion Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Everyone in my family loved this, including the 1, 4, and 6 year olds! Easily adaptable, we spooned the lentils and kale over fresh biscuits instead of adding pasta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was SO good! My kids even had seconds! The only change I made was to add shiitake mushrooms and add a bit more veggie broth to the finished product to keep it moist. I will absolutely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I was going to try this recipe and then saw that there were 732 calories per serving. That's a lot and looking at the ingredients, I don't see how that can be. Even with olive oil and vegan sausage, it shouldn't be that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I loved this. It was pretty easy and very tasty. It was better the second day, and thereafter. Needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Good but to much macaroni for my tastes. Will add less the next time I make it. Overall very tasty vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Yum! I tried this recipe with a few modifications and it was delicious and hearty. To boil the lentils, I used 2 cups chicken broth, 1/2 cup white wine, 2 cloves of garlice, and about 3/4 cups water. This kept it moist when I mixed everything together. I also added broccoli and mushrooms, and steamed the kale based on other reviews. I added some adobo and a little curry powder. Instead of vegan sausage I used Bob Evan's sage sausage (sorry, not vegan but good!) These tweaks just suited my taste buds better. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was AWESOME! Followed the advice of other reviwers and steamed the kale. Even my meat loving husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very delicious recipe, easy to make. I did not do the sausage and actually instead of the vegetable broth I just used water. I added my own spices, such as seasoned salt and garlic salt and onion powder along with everything else....very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was an excellent, crowd-pleasing dish! I was having a bunch of guests over and it was perfect - full of flavor (but not spicy) and sutiable for pretty much every dietary preference. I generally followed the recipe, with a few exceptions. I doubled it so it made 8 portions rather than 4, but it could have served 10 with no problem. Luckily, it keeps well and even tastes good cold, so the leftovers have been great. I didn't add vegan sausage and put in 2 roma tomatoes and 12 oz of mushrooms, as one user suggested. It worked well, definitely putting in 2 or 3 more tomatoes next time (if I'm doubling it again). And make sure to cook the pasta al dente. Maybe it was just because I had to wait before serving, but the pasta became a little mushy after everything was mixed together and sitting on the stove on low heat for a while. My guests all loved it and I'm definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I really recommend this dish. I think the flavor is more delicious as a hot dinner than cold, but it can definitely be eaten either way. I used fresh herbs from my garden along with Tofurkey Italian vegan sausage, and it was delicious. I love the fact it uses both lentils and the vegan sausage, making a high protein dish. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States