Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I didn't have poppy seeds, so maybe that was the problem, and I might have added too much liquid because they were quite cake-like, and not very scone-y, Probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were extremely tasty and my husband devoured them! I used all of the milk but only half of the water in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I made these for a ladies church brunch. They were a hit with everyone and I was beseiged for the recipe. The first batch I followed the directions to the letter. They did look alot like cookies and were softer than I think a "Scone" should be. They still received raves by all. The second batch I tried the suggestion of substituting Orange and Cranberry in the place of the lemon and poppy seed. I also used only soy milk, no water. I made the dough stiffer and rolled it out so I could cut triangles. This worked great. The scones were just a bit heavier but still delightful and soft. this recipe is a real "Keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
my favorite new cookie / dessert recipe. always double the recipe and 1/2 - 3/4 the amt of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were really yummy, although i didn't make them vegan (used regular milk and butter). I used whole wheat and still didn't need all the liquid. I will use less next time but my husband loved them and thinks they are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used the main recipe for my guideline and made a few alterations for a different variation. I'm not a huge lemon fan... instead came up with orange cranberry scones. I used orange zest instead of the lemon, substituted fresh squeezed orange juice in place of the water, added 3/4 cup dried cranberries, and a teaspoon of cinnamon. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Make smaller balls on cookie sheet. Add more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe. The first time I followed it exactly and it was good. Then I messed around with it creating lots of variations including adding rawsugar and less flour with dark choclate to create "dessert" scones that I served with heated and thinned fruit preserves. This is a basic recipe to have on hand and then to play around with till you find perfect variations. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These were great! I used all the soy milk/water because my husband likes the scones more moist and we both laughed because they do look like giant cookies. Defiantly a keeper and a recipe to have fun with. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Although these were in fact quite tasty, they are not scones. I substituted sunflower seed oil for the margarine. The liquid is far too much for the recipe. Either add a little at a time, or be prepared to add more flour later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States