Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These were okay, but not really very "sconey". I agree that they turned out much like fluffy pancakes. You won't need but half of the liquid that is called for, so watch out for that. I also recommend adding a tsp of vanilla extract to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollibomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I hate to give a bad review, but this is not a scone. I am not vegan, but wanted to try a lemon poppy seed scone and since there are only two recipes on this site I tried this one. These were flat and basically resembled little pancakes. They had no lemon flavor even after I used 1/4 c. lemon juice vs. 1/2 c. of water. Since I'm not vegan I used whole milk vs. soy milk which is preferable in a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I omitted the lemon and poppyseed and added a handful of chopped fresh mint and a 1/4 tsp of mint extract. I also put them in a muffin pan the second time around. They came out soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
So darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
We aren't vegan, but I ran out of eggs wanted to make a yummy breakfast that would incorporate some lemon curd I'd made earlier in the week. These were perfect! I made some major adjustments however. I substituted 1/2 c. butter and 1/4 cup applesauce for the margarine, omitted the water, and used real milk. I also only used 1 Tbsp. of poppyseeds, which was plenty. My only complaint is that these spread out like cookies when baking and looked more like poppyseed pancakes. But they tasted great drizzled with lemon curd! I'll make them again and refrigerate the dough so they won't spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The flavor of these were great, but they didn't come out right for me. They were a lot like very flat baked lemon/poppy pancakes. I imagine, from reading the rest of the reviews, that the problem could have been the amount of liquid. I will probably not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These are great! Very easy to make as well. Like the other reviewers, if you want it to be more "sconeish" use less liquid. Also note that if you want it to be truly vegan, then you shouldn't use regular margarine! That is a no no. I also use raw sugar and wheat flour and they still turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is not a scone recipe, in my opinion. I used half the liquid and they still did not hold their shape. This recipe definately needs re-testing! The ratio of dry to liquid is way off. If you want a scone, do not try this. (I am amazed at the wide range of reviews.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
i don't know what happened, but the scones didn't hold their shape at all. in fact, they went out over the edge of the cookie sheet and burned on the bottom of the oven. altogether disapointing. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBoe VonHeldenberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
What a nice treat. I love the combination of lemon and poppyseeds. I was surprised by how much they spread in the oven, despite my omission of the 1/2 c. water. I think I'll try these again with a touch more flour, less milk, 3t. baking powder instead of 4t., and parchment paper instead of greasing the pan. Thanks for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States