Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious! My husband loved them! I used just the right amount of soy milk and didn't added any water! They puffed perfectly! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I had to come up with several different "vegan" desserts for a catering job and I decided to try this. I made both lemon and orange and loved the flavor in both. I made a glaze for each with fresh juice and powdered sugar and a bit of melted "not butter". These were so good I am thinking of making them as gifts for Christmas. To go with the home made candy of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I used 1.5 tsp lemon extract instead of lemon rind/juice, and added 1.5 tsp almond extract, as I am wont to do. Be sure to follow the instructions and *not* add all the liquid. Just add enough to make it look like scone dough should. SO GOOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These were delicious! They came out light and buttery. Like other reviewers, we skipped the water and only used about 1/4 cup of almond milk. Next time, I would try using a little less of the Earth Balance too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I love this recipe. I always put slightly too much liquid in to get upright scones (I didn't know what consistency the dough should be to begin with), so they often turn out flat, but everyone loves them, so I have decided to embrace flatness as a special quirk of my scone-making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
The dough is delicious. I used 1/8 cup of water instead of the 1/2 the recipe calls for, coconut milk (I'm allergic to soy), and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour as the dough was too runny. I only baked them for 91/2 minutes, and they were delicious. I hope my vegan family member likes them, and I will make them for myself again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
ADD MORE LEMON! I tried to make these as Paleo as possible. I used Splenda instead instead of sugar, and replaced 1/2 cup flour with coconut flour. They are delicious BUT lacking lemon flavor. I threw the lemon skeleton into the food processor and mixed it with some water, then strained and combined with powdered sugar to make lemon icing. That added a little more lemon flavor to the scones. I do live in Vegas and we don't get the best produce, so that could be why 1 lemon wasn't enough. I would use at least 2 lemons next time - maybe even 3. I will say this, though, my kids love these cones. They don't know I made them with Splenda! Haha! And after eating one, I don't feel dragged down like I do with most desserts. I actually feel great!! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These were positively yummy! I added a blueberry on top before baking to add a lil extra yumminess! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love these scones!!! My hubby and our three kids devour them. I'm so happy I found a great recipe for my son who is allergic to milk and eggs. I do change the recipe up a little bit though. I half the fat and decrease the sugar to about 75%. They still come out great! Oh...and I don't use the poppy seeds because my kids are picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My changes to the dough: 1 c. all-purpose flour, 1 c. whole-wheat pastry flour (couldn't taste a difference) 1/2 cup sugar + 1 packet white stevia only 1/4 cup additional liquid (almond milk) I made two-bite scones like those sold at Whole Foods. Divide dough into three balls. On a floured surface, pat down into discs. Cut each disc into eight triangles. Separate for baking on greased sheet. Makes 24 mini scones. Adjust baking time as needed. Nice lemon flavor and had a good scone texture (be sure to reduce liquid and bake long enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States