Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
My vegan sister absolutely loved these! My suggestion is to use only half of the liquid if you want a scone, if you want a poofy cookie, use most of it. Regardless, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This recipe is very innovative and not to meaniton, delicious! I made these for a bake sale as a vegan option and they sold out! Very flavorful and the texture is nice and soft. I highly recommend these to both vegans and non-vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I made a couple of changes-which changed it to non-vegan: I didn't add so much margarine and instead of white sugar I used equal parts of melted honey and raw sugar...I also added half a handful of sultanas and 1 tsp. of cinammon, 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and grounded cloves and instead of lemon and lemon zest I used freshly squeezed orange juice. It does taste quite delicious but it has an aftertaste from the baking powder and mine turned out more like a crumbly muffin. Anyway still yum and I've given 5 stars for alot less. I agree with the other members that if you want it to be a scone to cut the liquid down by quite a bit but thats mentioned in the recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is a very good recipe. It turned out more like a cookie then a scone.. So use half the liquid but keep all the lemon and lemon juice.. so try to cut down on the water and soy milk .I also found vanilla soy milk added more sweetness to it. remember that on more humid and wet days you will require LESS liquid and on dryer days more liquid. So only add small bits at a time. and once it form a giant ball, stop mixing and do what needs to be done to prepare it for cooking. What ever liquid is left, toss it same with what ever dry is left in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These were great! I used all the soy milk/water because my husband likes the scones more moist and we both laughed because they do look like giant cookies. Defiantly a keeper and a recipe to have fun with. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
These are delicious and I loved the consistency. I didn't have any lemons on hand so I used an orange and they turned out great. Thanks! I have already made 2 batches this week! They also taste great warm with jam on them like a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used the main recipe for my guideline and made a few alterations for a different variation. I'm not a huge lemon fan... instead came up with orange cranberry scones. I used orange zest instead of the lemon, substituted fresh squeezed orange juice in place of the water, added 3/4 cup dried cranberries, and a teaspoon of cinnamon. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
my favorite new cookie / dessert recipe. always double the recipe and 1/2 - 3/4 the amt of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were extremely tasty and my husband devoured them! I used all of the milk but only half of the water in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This recipe is really yummy especially with lemon curd. I recommend using 1/4 cup instead and baking for ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States