Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
The taste of these were great, wonderful even. Though they did not act like scones at all. More similar to angel cake in texture, and they didn't rise very much. I did not put in the water at all, only a bit less than half a cup of soy milk, and 2 small lemons rather than one normal one. NOTE, please read!: To all my non-vegan friends, if you make this recipe for your vegan friends and family, DO NOT use normal margarine. It is NOT vegan. Please use 'Earth Balance' which will be in the natural section of your grocery store, or if you cannot find this one where you are, try to find a margarine that says 'lactose free' and read the ingredients to make sure there is no 'whey' or 'casien'. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
My vegan sister absolutely loved these! My suggestion is to use only half of the liquid if you want a scone, if you want a poofy cookie, use most of it. Regardless, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were extremely tasty and my husband devoured them! I used all of the milk but only half of the water in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This recipe is very innovative and not to meaniton, delicious! I made these for a bake sale as a vegan option and they sold out! Very flavorful and the texture is nice and soft. I highly recommend these to both vegans and non-vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe. The first time I followed it exactly and it was good. Then I messed around with it creating lots of variations including adding rawsugar and less flour with dark choclate to create "dessert" scones that I served with heated and thinned fruit preserves. This is a basic recipe to have on hand and then to play around with till you find perfect variations. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is a very good recipe. It turned out more like a cookie then a scone.. So use half the liquid but keep all the lemon and lemon juice.. so try to cut down on the water and soy milk .I also found vanilla soy milk added more sweetness to it. remember that on more humid and wet days you will require LESS liquid and on dryer days more liquid. So only add small bits at a time. and once it form a giant ball, stop mixing and do what needs to be done to prepare it for cooking. What ever liquid is left, toss it same with what ever dry is left in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
These are delicious and I loved the consistency. I didn't have any lemons on hand so I used an orange and they turned out great. Thanks! I have already made 2 batches this week! They also taste great warm with jam on them like a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This recipe is extremely flawed. The "dough" all but turns to liquid on the cookie sheet, and I ended up with batter all over the bottom of my oven. Retest this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were really yummy, although i didn't make them vegan (used regular milk and butter). I used whole wheat and still didn't need all the liquid. I will use less next time but my husband loved them and thinks they are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
i don't know what happened, but the scones didn't hold their shape at all. in fact, they went out over the edge of the cookie sheet and burned on the bottom of the oven. altogether disapointing. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBoe VonHeldenberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States