Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These were some of the best scones I've ever had! I did take the advice of some of the other reviewers and only used half of the liquid and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These were great! Did not get it to look like scones/but will try again! Only thing I changed was I used almond milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Way easy to make. I loved the sandy part, felt inspired to make sand castles out of it. A bit dry, but if you slather on Earth balance and apple butter - who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Delicious! I had no problem with the liquid, but I also followed the recipe-- to only add as much as needed to moisten the batter. I eliminated the poppy seeds and sprinkled sanding sugar on the top for a delicious tart/sweet scone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is a great base recipe! For those having a hard time with it make sure you only stir enough to moisten dry ingredients. You need the air pockets created by the salt and baking powder to make them fluffy, just like other scone recipes. I ommitted the lemon and poppy seeds and added 1/2 a grated apple. I also added 1/2 tsp each nutmeg and cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla powder. I used 1 cup vanilla soy milk and left out the water. I baked them at 380 degrees for 10 minutes. They turned out great, especially for a first time go at a new recipe! Thanks for sharing :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I used coconut milk, no water, reduced my earth balance by half, and used lemon sugar and fructose... Flavor was sublime, but as others have mentioned, they don't hold up as scones. They had the texture of cake, and the shape of pancake. I only put six on my cookie sheet, so I didn't have batter run over into my stove. I added 2 more cups of flour to the remaining batter, and they seemed to hold up better, just not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
These were so yummy. I followed other reviewers advise and cut the amount of liquid. I also added more lemon zest since I wanted them to be LEMONY. I need to make them again soon since I gave most of them to my mom for Mother's Day (after taste testing one first, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Great taste but more the consistency of muffins, in fact I used a scone pan that is basically like a triangular muffin tin, and they came out beautifully. I recommend making them into muffins! They taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I used 1/2 cup apple sauce in place of the butter, soy milk, and water (basically not adding any liquids but the lemon juice.) I used a large lemon, and had to add about 1/4 cup more flour to get a good scone dough. I also used half white and half whole wheat flour, and 1/2 cup raw sugar instead of 3/4 c. white sugar. I rolled the dough, cut it into triangles, and sprinkled it with sugar prior to baking. This recipe def. needs to cut a lot of liquids, but overall I really like the lemon and poppy seed with apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I realized I was out of poppy seeds just as I was supposed to add them! But I happen to use raw sugar so they had a nice crunch to them anyhow. They tasted super lemony, but didn't hold their shape. So I cut the giant pancake of scone into triangles and served them to my B&B guests. They loved them! I would serve them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States