Vegan Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Hi My top tip would be to leave adding the dried fruit until after its taken out of the oven, otherwise it dries out and goes hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The recipe was quite good, my SIL was so thankful when I gave her the batch I made. My husband and I just loved the flavor. And will make again. Super easy recipe and very quick to throw together and bake. I'm trying the next batch with agave. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This recipe gets 4 stars for not using oil to make granola. This recipe is also good as a basic granola that you can add whatever you want to after it is baked. I baked it first as written and then baked it again with modifications. I agree with other reviewers that felt that cooking this granola at 350 degrees F is too long and too hot. It was also not sweet enough for our tastes. First I made this with the suggested ingredients and baked for the 30 minutes at 350 degrees F, stirring and checking it at 10 minute intervals. I used parchment paper in my two pans. It browned up nicely. Unfortunately, it was burnt tasting. Next the modifications: I made my second (and third!) batch with more liquid ingredients; I mixed up 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup maple syrup, 1/4 cup apple juice and 1 tsp vanilla. This time I cooked it, as other reviewers have suggested, at 325 degrees F for 20 minutes mixing it up and switching my pans after 10 minutes. I pulled it out before it got brown or hard/dried out. There was even some moisture remaining when I stirred it up after I removed it from the oven. It dried as it cooled. This combination made the perfect crunchy, sweet-tasting granola. I will use this recipe again as modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masaravati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Just made this with some tweaks of my own. Smells and tastes great. But, I agree that the cooking time is too long. At 20 minutes total, it was getting very brown. One question, what constitutes a serving? Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I used honey instead of molasses and baked at 325 per other reviews. I only used 1 11x17 pan, and it worked great. I really like the apple juice addition, and it has a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I used 1/4 cup maple and 1/4 cup molasses. It was perfect. It's important to stir every 10 minutes and if your oven runs hot, lower it to 325degrees and leave it in the oven a few extra minutes. It's best to heat it slower than to burn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by safejourney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very good!! Next time I'm going to substitute the molasses with Agave to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is a great snack. I found that 30 minutes was a bit too long when using 2 baking sheets, so the next time I just used one. I may try 2 baking sheets again for 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Who knew making granola could be so easy? Although the premise is great, I found it a little bland. Perhaps a little more spice and just a little more sweetener would be good. Word to the wise: better to take out of the oven sooner than later. I kept thinking it didn't quite look toasted enough after stirring it two or three times... so I left it in... and got some burnt pieces on the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I'm not a vegan, but I love granola. This was an excellent recipe. I'm not a big molasses fan so I substituted comb honey or agave nectar. I also just used raisins instead of mixed fruit and apricots because I did not have them on hand. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States