Vegan-Friendly Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Finally a recipe submitted using dry chickpeas instead of canned. You have to do it right to get authentic falafel. You don't cook the chickpeas, only soak overnight and then grind, this makes a real difference in the outcome. I have made with and w/o potato, no difference. I am not familiar with cilantro in falafel (so I didn't try it), we only use fresh parsley in the middle east, and another teaspoon of cumin was needed for our tastes. I also use an additional 2 tablespoons of flour to help it hold together well. And all falafel here is served with a tasty tahina (sesame seed paste) sauce. Here it goes: 1 small clove garlic, crushed with a mortar and pestle (or forget the mortar like I do and just squash it up in the bowl with the pestle)1/2 of a juicy lemon, about 1/4 cup tahina (you can find tahina in the specialty aisle) 1/4 teaspoon salt or to taste and a couple of tablespoons of room temp water. Whisk together, adding more water if needed until it is a drizzling consistency. Drizzle over falafel or use in falafel sandwiches. Enjoy and thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I really liked the concept of the recipe & will make again. For my taste it needed to be more spicy. I only used 1/2 lb.of dry garbanzos,1/2 of the potato & onion. Next time I plan on using the full amounts of spices & herbs from the recipe.I believe that it will be more to my liking. I also used more flour to hold the shape of the balls. Very good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I loved this - it's so cheap to make and still really delicious. I hate cilantro, so I used parsley per another reviewer's suggestion. The potato seemed to make the mix pretty watery, so for the first batch I felt like I added quite a bit of flour, but then I let it sit in the fridge overnight, and it seemed less watery the next day. I served it with an improvised version of tzatziki sauce, which went really well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I'm not sure if subbing a small sweet potato for a regular one would change anything about this recipe, but my falafels turned out really loose, even with the addition of extra flour. The flavor was good, but the ones I fried were falling apart and the ones I baked remained fairly soft, even though I baked them till they got a darkened, crisp outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These are great and very easy. I couldn't see where the recipe said to add the flour, so I added it when I added the baking soda. I have used another recipe for years, but it always had a raw bean flavor which this recipe doesn't have. I baked these instead of frying. I dropped them from a rounded teaspoon onto a parchment lined baking pan, covered with foil and baked for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. I then uncovered and turned them, and returned them to the oven uncovered for another 15 minutes. Very tasty wrapped in an untraditional tortilla with sprouts and tomatoes and cucumbers and a vegan thousand island too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Loved this! I've been trying to make falafel like this for years with no success. I baked mine rather than frying and it came out perfectly. It won't be long before I can recite this recipe by heart. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Very good. Needed to add more flour because it was to wet. I think I used to large of a potato. The taste and texture were great. Baked instead of fried 20-30 min. at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Maybe "vegan" in the recipe name scares people, hence so few reviews? This is easily the best falafel recipe I've ever tried. I leave out the potato and double the garlic, cilantro, cumin, and coriander. With shredded drained cucumbers mixed in plain yogurt with a little cayenne, some good chopped tomatoes, cabbage, and maybe some more fresh cilantro, oh my!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PISKURG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!! This is wonderful!! I love that it uses dry and not canned garbanzo beans. I tried to bake them but that didn't work out as well as i hoped (maybe i did something wrong). This is a great recipe that didn't disappoint. I have family that is from the middle east and since they moved its been difficult to get my falafel fix.. This totally hit the spot! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This recipe was a 3 and 1/2 when I baked them, but a 5 when I friend them....maybe I baked too long, because they came out dry. Will make again, but will certainly fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States