Vegan-Friendly Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Completely DELISH!!! I have been searching for an authentic Falafel recipe that doesn't have bread crumbs or fillers. I finally found it. Authentic Falafels don't contain any fillers. I made this last night and my family, who aren't vegans, devoured this! This recipe is going to be a part of my monthly recipes from now on! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Shurts
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
LOVED THIS!!!! I left out the potato b/c I didn't have one and the cilantro b/c my husband doesn't like it but I thought it was great. I loved the texture and didn't think it needed bread crumbs like some the other reviews. We enjoyed these with the cucumber sauce from Sean's Falafel recipe on this site. Thanks for the recipe Marian!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
this one is very close to the real falafel that I used to have . I did`t add any potato , used baking powder coz I found the baking soda makes the falafel more greasy, and as my mother used to do I added parsley (which is supposed to be the basic herb ingredient in falafel)+ cilantro + dill and I add more garlic : up to 7 cloves , 1 and some times 2 eggs(to hold the mixture and to make it fluffy), 1 tsb dried mint will make a great flavor ,some times I add green onions and I doubled the amount of cumin . if U have a meat grinder use it , I believe it makes the texture much better than the food processor. in Egypt they use peeled fava beans not garbanzo beans (but it`s hard to find in USA)and they sprinkle the falafel with sesame seeds after forming it in to balls. thanks for sharing this amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These were SO good. I left out the cilantro (because I hate cilantro) and still they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
End product is pretty good but there are some major problems with the amounts of ingredients called for. The garbanzos, potato, and onion makes a huge amount of falafel but the recipe only calls for 1 tsp. of cumin? I quadrupled the amount of cumin and doubled most of the other spices (except the salt; it was plenty). Also doubled the flour and added bread crumbs and it was still quite loose. I baked though, and the end product consistency was good. Would probably be four stars otherwise, but as is the recipe has flaws that must be addressed when making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
WE love this recipe! It's perfect!! You can make the mix ahead and add the breadcrumbs right before you cook it! :) We bake them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I had to fudge the herbs and spices a bit due to my poorly stocked pantry, but they still turned out great. I also left out the potato and used olive oil instead of canola just because of personal preference. This was a great way to feel like I was totally blowing my diet while still eating fairly nutritious food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This recipe was a 3 and 1/2 when I baked them, but a 5 when I friend them....maybe I baked too long, because they came out dry. Will make again, but will certainly fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!! This is wonderful!! I love that it uses dry and not canned garbanzo beans. I tried to bake them but that didn't work out as well as i hoped (maybe i did something wrong). This is a great recipe that didn't disappoint. I have family that is from the middle east and since they moved its been difficult to get my falafel fix.. This totally hit the spot! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Maybe "vegan" in the recipe name scares people, hence so few reviews? This is easily the best falafel recipe I've ever tried. I leave out the potato and double the garlic, cilantro, cumin, and coriander. With shredded drained cucumbers mixed in plain yogurt with a little cayenne, some good chopped tomatoes, cabbage, and maybe some more fresh cilantro, oh my!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PISKURG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States